North Berwick's Golfing Pioneers. |
In 1891, in the same class at North Berwick Public School were Willie Anderson,
James Souter, George Livingstone, James Hutchison and George Turnbull. All emigrated and left their mark on American golf. In the junior
form was Jack Hobens who helped to draft the constitution of the Professional Golfers Association of America and in the year below, class
mates Fred McLeod and Daniel Kenny, were to become national champions.
George Douglas was the first golf caddie to emigrate from North Berwick. He arrived on 18th April 1896 and was appointed golf professional
to the Country Club of Brookline, Boston, Massachusetts. He was followed a year later by Harry Gullane who was invited to join Philadelphia
Country Club in 1897. That year Robert M Thomson was appointed to Merion Cricket Club, Philadelphia and George Thomson was the first of Ben
Sayers apprentice clubmakers to emigrate and was assistant to Jack Hobens at Yountakah Country Club, New Jersey.
Listed among the first forty golf professionals in the United States prior to 1898 are George Douglas, Tom Warrender, Harry Gullane, and
Willie Anderson and today they are recognised as the true pioneers of American golf. The list of the earliest Australian Golf Professionals
includes twins Alex and Jack McLaren, William Russell and brothers Alec and Duncan Denholm.
At the start of the twentieth century, the status of the golf professional was no better than an experienced caddie. Those early pioneers
who emigrated to the USA, South Africa and Australia were often restricted to a one year contract and seldom felt secure in their employment.
The calibre of the men from North Berwick was such that within a few years their reputation for being honest, and hardworking had increased
their standing dramatically. The clubs became proud of their 'Scottish Pro' and longer contracts were offered while many were encouraged to
have their wife and children join them. This is an alphabetical list of the amateur's and professional's from North Berwick who made their
mark on the game of golf.
ALEXANDER, THOMAS, AND JOHN AITKEN Club-Makers,
Edinburgh, Gullane, Portrush.
Alexander Veitch Aitken (b.1864), Thomas Aitken,
(b.1866), John Veitch Aitken (b.1868), sons of Thomas Aitken upholsterer and his wife Elizabeth Veitch.
In 1880, the family were living at 16, Wright's Houses opposite Bruntsfield Links where Alex, Tom, John and Adam learned to play golf.
Douglas McEwan the famous club and ball maker worked from 36, Wright's Houses where the Aitken brothers were taught the art of club-making.
Their father Thomas Aitken Snr was a founder member of Bruntsfield Allied Golf Club in 1856 and a member of the committee representing the
interests of the Bruntsfield golfers when Edinburgh Town Council sought to control play on Bruntsfield Links in 1886. This led to the
opening of the Braid Hills Golf Course in 1889. The Aitken family moved to 39 South Bruntsfield Place in 1886, then to 192 Morningside
Road, with the upholstery business at 184, Morningside Road.
In 1892 John Aitken was appointed club and ball-maker to Royal Portrush Golf Club, while his brother Alex Aitken was Club Professional
(1892-95). John worked from a shop at 10, Main Street, Portrush employing three or four club-makers making and repairing golf clubs. He
also patented several golf balls including the popular 'Portrush Lily' named after his daughter.
In 1911, John was a founder member of the Irish Professional Golfers' Association and was appointed as one of four professionals to draft
their constitution. John Aitken was replaced at Royal Portrush in 1911 and died in September 1916 aged forty-three.
Bruntsfield Links, Edinburgh
In 1893 Alex Aitken opened a retail outlet at 3 Brighton Terrace, Gullane, East Lothian. Aitken continued to rent the property at 184,
Morningside Road, Edinburgh until 1896 when he was appointed the first club-maker to the Royal Burgess Golfing Society and allowed to
construct a shop beside the clubhouse at Barnton. He remained there for 15 months before moving to Gullane permanently and was living in
Temple Croft, Templar Place until 1917. Willie Anderson son of the head greenkeeper at North Berwick apprenticed as a club-maker with
Alex Aitken before he emigrated to America in 1896 and won the US Open four times.
Alex Aitken produced a set of clubs in his workshop at Gullane for the Prime Minister Hon. Arthur J. Balfour, and in 1897 he was exporting
clubs to P. F. Murphy & Co in Boston, USA. In 1905 the Gullane Ladies Golf Club rented a large shed in Saltcoats Road belonging to Alex
Aitken as their first clubhouse. Following WW1 Alex moved to 2 Lammerview Terrace, Gullane where he died on 27th March 1944 aged 79 years.
There are some fine examples of Alex Aitken's club-making still in existence.
Alex's brother Thomas Aitken was appointed professional at Great Yarmouth G.C (1892-1911). He was a PGA member in 1902 and 1911, and spent a
year at Stanwell (Shortwood Common), Stains. Tom moved to Gorleston (1912-17), then Northampton (1920-22), and Milford Haven (1922-30), before
settling at Gloucester (1930-32). Tom played an exhibition match with Percy Alliss at the opening of the Milford Haven course in 1933.
L. STUART ANDERSON (1870-1913) Irish Open Champion
Lennox Stuart Anderson, born 3rd September 1870 at 3 Tantallon Terrace, North Berwick,
son of Fortescue L. M. Anderson rector of St Baldred's Episcopalian Church and his wife Charlotte Fisher. Later the family moved to the rectory at
15 York Road, North Berwick. L. Stuart Anderson was a member of Tantallon Golf Club wining the Club Medal in 1893 and also a member of North Berwick
New Club wining the Gold Medal at the Autumn Meeting in 1893 and the Moncreiff Gold Cross at the Spring Meeting in 1894. Two years earlier Anderson
played in the Open Championship at St Andrews and again in 1893 he entered the Open at Prestwick from North Berwick when he finished tied for
During his amateur career he was a member of Falmouth Golf Club and won the Cornish Championship four successive years. He was twice runner-up in
the Irish Open Championship being defeated in the final by John Ball Jnr. in 1893 and by Harold Hilton in 1897. Anderson had the distinction
of registering a hole-in-one nine times, including the first and fourteenth (old) at North Berwick, tenth and fifteenth at Aberdeen, and the
fourth, fifth and eventh at Braids Hills. St. Enodoc and Tavistock respectively. He also scored the longest hole-in-one at the 328 yard hole
at Brae Burn USA. In 1900 Stuart Anderson and his wife Mary Louisa were the captains of the men’s and ladies golf clubs at Falmouth Golf Club,
In 1901 Stuart Anderson was appointed the first secretary of Royal Portrush Golf Club at a salary of £80 per annum. The following year Anderson
wrote to Tantallon G.C to arrange a interclub-match between Tantallon and Royal Portrush to be played at the time of the Irish Championship, but
the arrangements fell through. Anderson resided with his family in Glenmanus Manse, Portrush where he died in 1913. His sisters Blanch and Helen
(Maud) Anderson learned to play golf on the nine-hole Ladies course at North Berwick before they joined the Ladies Golf Club. Helen married
Canadian born George Gordon Robertson in 1891, a Chartered Accountant with D. H Huie at 5a York Place, Edinburgh. They lived at 4 Shandon Terrace,
Edinburgh and George was a member of the Rhodes Golf Club at North Berwick, winning their Club Medal in 1895.
In 1896, Helen and George moved to London and Helen became a member of the Prince's Ladies' Club on Mitcham Common where she was joined by her sister
Blanch. The professional at Mitcham was Jack White who was followed in 1897 by Philip Wynne both from North Berwick. In 1898 Helen won the scratch
prize at the Autumn Meeting which Blanch won the following year with a course record 76. Blanche reached the quarter-finals of the British Ladies
Championship at Gullane in 1905.
Helen, George and their two children lived in a house named St Baldred's on Mitcham Common. In 1905, Helen became the first Lady Golf Professional
in Great Britain and gave lessons to the members of Prince's Ladies Club, West Middlesex Ladies Club, and at a number of finishing schools in London.
Their father was rector of St Baldred's Church for over thirty years and the family lived at the Parsonage, 16 York Road, North Berwick. He was
an original member of North Berwick New Club and one of four trustees in 1880 whose names were taken from the Feu-right of the ground on which the
North Berwick clubhouse was erected.
WILLIE ANDERSON Factfile
VIOLET HENRY-ANDERSON (1882-1935) Canadian Women's
Amateur Champion 1909
Violet Winifred Leslie Henry-Anderson born 15 December 1882, in
Blairgowrie, Perthshire, daughter of Isaac Henry-Anderson, Solicitor Supreme Court and his wife Katherine Blyth. Violet was known to her friends
as 'Tommy' and was fortunate to have affluent parents and was able to devote much of her leisure time playing sports. Her father joined North
Berwick Golf Club in September 1881 and Violet learned to play golf on the Children's course during her summer holidays while the family stayed
in the Marine Hotel in North Berwick. Violet was runner-up in a number of tournaments and in 1907 she was selected to play for Scotland against
England in the Home Internationals.
During the Edwardian period, women who played golf were looked upon as unfeminine and degenerate and Violet was happy to promote that impression
while she enjoyed the lesbian circle in Edinburgh.
The family lived in Druids Mere, a large house situated one mile south of Blairgowrie. Her father was the sole partner in the solicitors Anderson,
Chapman & Company but in August 1904 he was declared bankrupt. He resigned as secretary of Blairgowrie Golf Club and treasurer of Perth County
Council. In September 1904 he failed to attend Perth Sheriff Court and a warrant was issued for his arrest.
For the first time Violet had to make her own way in the world and in April 1908 she emigrated to Canada with her two brothers Godfrey and Edward.
They settled in Montreal where Violet attended secretarial college. She worked as a Law Stenographer and could have been a lawyer but that was
unheard of at the beginning of the twentieth century.
Violet joined Royal Montreal Ladies Golf Club and in 1909 she won the Women's Amateur Championship of the Royal Canadian Golf Association. Played
over the Dixie course in Montreal she defeated Miss Muriel Dick of Lambton Country Club 5&4 in the final. The following year at Toronto Golf Club
she again reached the final but was defeated by another North Berwick girl Dorothy Campbell 2&1.
Violet's brother Edward Henry-Anderson attended Loretto School and learned to play golf over the Musselburgh links. In 1909 he played in the
qualifying rounds for the Canadian Amateur Championship at Toronto Golf Club on the Fern Hill property. He was also selected to represent Quebec
in the Inter Provincial match against Ontario.
Violet joined the lesbian and gay community in Montreal and fell in love with a young actress named Mona Shelley. They moved to Vancouver and
Violet took up golf again, winning the Vancouver Ladies Golf Club Championship in 1917, 1919 and 1920. Violet won the inaugural Ladies City Golf
Championship in 1922 and the trophy with her name engraved is now on display in the British Columbia Golf Museum. Also that year she reached the
final of the Pacific Northwest Amateur Championship at Royal Colwood Golf and Country Club but was defeated 5&3 by Vera Ramsay, a Dublin girl
living in Winnipeg.
Violet moved to New York and found a new partner in Elsa 'Ruby' Gidlow and they were inseparable for 13 years. In 1926 they moved to San
Francisco where they remained until Violet died of lung cancer on 20 June 1935, aged 52 years.
IAN ARUNDEL (1911-1988) Masterton
G C, New Zealand
John 'Ian' Arundel, born October 1911 in Marchmont
House, Kirk Ports, North Berwick, son of Arthur Arundel, a baker, and his wife Agnes Elliot. Ian Arundel lived with his family at 3, Victoria
Road and served an apprenticeship as a clubmaker with Ben Sayers & Son at the same time as Charlie Thomson who would later be appointed foreman.
Ian and Charlie where members of Bass Rock Golf Club in 1928. On leaving Sayers, Ian worked for Jack White the former Open Champion in his
workshop in Gullane before being appointed to Erskine Golf Club in Paisley.
During this period in his life, golf was secondary to football and after showing great promise as an amateur, Ian was signed up by Hibernian FC.
Later he was persuaded to give up football for a safer sport when he married Charlie Thomson's sister Ellen in 1938. They moved to Northwood
near London where Ian was assistant to Arthur Havers at Sandy Lodge G.C.and they lived at 84 Hallowell Road, Middlesex
At the start of WW2 Arundel enlisted in the 6th Battalion, Black Watch Regiment, rising to the rank of Sergeant Major, he served under Sir Bernard
Fergusson who later became Governor- General of New Zealand. Ian took part in the Italian Campaign at Monte Cassino where he was mentioned in
dispatches and wounded during the incident. At the end of the war he was posted to Greece during the period of Civil War in 1945-46.
Following the armistice Ian returned to being a golf pro at Northwood but like many was disillusioned with life in Britain and wanted to make a
new start. He emigrated to New Zealand in 1953 and was appointed golf pro at Russley Golf Club, Christchurch. One of his pupils, Ross Murray
represented New Zealand on several occasions. Ian was also football coach to the Christchurch senior football team 'Rangers'.
Ian, always smartly dressed in plus-fours, won the New Zealand Professional Plate at the Professional Championship in 1953 and played in exhibition
matches with Norman Von Nida and Bobby Locke. After five years he moved with his wife Ellen and daughter Joan to Invercargill for a short
period before being appointed to Masterton G.C on North Island. During his eleven years at the club, junior golf in Wairarapa flourished to the
point when Ian have 130 pupils under his care. Robbie Douglas a clubmaker with Ben Sayers Ltd was offered the position of assistant to Ian Arundel
at Masterton but due to family commitments he declined.
Arundel's small workshop at Masterton in Lansdowne attracted clubs for repair from all over New Zealand as his reputation followed him. Local golfers
spoke glowingly of Ian Arundel clubs, made specially for them and still going strong after many years of use.
He moved to Auckland to a position with Remuera G.C. and in the mid-seventies he returned to Masterton with a view to retire, but he continued
to work in golf, firstly with Carterton G.C and latterly back at Masterton. On the day he actually died 10th November 1988 he was coaching golf
on the course at the age of 77 years. Noel Preston, a golf historian, writing in the Wairarapa Times-Age " His skills as a clubmaker and club repairer
were widely recognised but it was as a golf coach that he was pre-eminent. In fact many would regard him, at his height as the best in New
Zealand". Ian Arundel's ashes were returned to Scotland and scattered on the 14th fairway of his beloved West Links at North Berwick.
His father Arthur Arundel was captain of the Rhodes Golf Club in 1919 and winner of the Maxwell Shield in 1909. Ian's adopted brother Rab Arundel
was a member of Tantallon Golf Club and winner of the prestigious Esmond Trophy in 1960 and 1974. The Arundel family continue to resided in North
JOHN ARUNDEL (1884-1972) and JAMES ARUNDEL (1884-1967) Euclid
Country Club, Michigan, USA
John Stevenson Moodie Arundel and his twin brother
James were born on 4th March 1894 in North Berwick, sons of Thomas Arundel, a master plasterer from Edinburgh and his wife Margaret Moodie.
The family lived at Braeside (now Springhill), 2, Clifford Road, North Berwick where his father had a builders business. Thomas Arundel
constructed the Bass Rock lighthouse in 1902, and the company motif can be seen today embedded in the pavements in the Quadrant.
On leaving school, John apprenticed as a clubmaker and joined Bass Rock Golf Club. He emigrated to the USA and sailed from Southampton on the
S.S. Philadelphia and arrived in New York on 25th October 1920. His contact in America was Mrs. Donaldson,110 E. 83rd St. New York. Jock Arundel
was appointed golf instructor at Meadowbrook Country Club, Northville, a district west of Detroit in Michigan (1924-28). In 1929 he moved to
Euclid Golf and Country Club, Kawkawlin, MI. John Arundel died, 25th June 1972 at Coldwater, Branch County, Michigan.
Jim Arundel joined the professional ranks in 1909 as assistant to John Hunter at Prestwick. In 1910 Arundel was appointed the first pro
at Delamere Forest Golf Club in Cheshire. To celebrate the opening of the new course in 1911 an exhibition match was played between Jim
Arundel, James Braid, Alex Herd, and Ted Ray. Arundel resided on Dalefords Lane, Sandiway, Northwich, Cheshire and remained with the club
for over thirty-five years. Following WW2, Arundel returned to North Berwick and worked as a teller in the British Linen Bank in
Westgate. He was reinstated as an amateur and joined Tantallon Golf Club, wining the William Croal Cup in 1961. He remained single and
resided at 1 Clifford Road, opposite his former family home at Braeside.
THOMAS ARUNDEL (1862-1927) North
Berwick Club Maker
Thomas Arundel, born 24th March 1862, at 41
Westgate, North Berwick, son of David Arundel, coachman and his wife Annie Ferguson. Thomas Arundel served an apprenticeship as a club
maker with Davie Strath and James Beveridge in their workshop situated in the quarry below the first green on the West Links. When Tom
Dunn moved to North Berwick in 1881, Arundel would have been employed by Dunn in his workshop beside the first tee. Arundel's father
David Arundel was a fine golfer and member of the Bass Rock Golf Club wining the Summer Scratch Medal in 1880.
In 1879, Tom Arundel was the first North Berwick club maker to enter the Open Championship from the town. Played that year at Musselburgh,
there were 30 competitors and Bob Ferguson won the title while Arundel finished 15th. He entered the championship in 1880 at St Andrews
(10th), 1882 St Andrews (27th), 1883 Musselburgh (21st). Tom Arundel married his first wife Margaret Alexander in 1894 and they moved
to 4 Gray's Court, 95 Nicolson Street, Edinburgh. Tom worked as a club maker until he died in 1927, aged 65 years.
ROBERT AULD (1871-1939) Dunbar Golf Club, UK
Robert Auld, born 23rd March 1871, 7 High Street, Fisherow, Musselburgh, son of
William Auld, lamplighter and his wife Mary Logan. Robert Auld was appointed Professional and Clubmaster at Dunbar G.C in May 1902 and
remained there until he retired in 1938. Auld apprenticed as a clubmaker with James Hutchison at North Berwick and was a scratch medallist
of Bass Rock Golf Club. At the time the resident club-makers at Dunbar were J & A.Dickson of Comiston Road, Edinburgh and the club cancelled
their contract. The committee asked Ben Sayers, Laurie Auchterlonie, James H.Hutchison and Willie Park to suggest a replacement and Hutchison
recommended Robert Auld. He worked from 142 High Street, Dunbar and some fine examples of his clubmaking still exist, stamped with Rt Auld.
He married Annie Barr and their son William Auld was later assistant at Dunbar before being employed as a clubmaker with Ben Sayers Ltd.
Adam Gullen apprenticed as a clubmaker under Robert Auld at Dunbar before he emigrated to America in 1915 and was appointed professional to
the National Links of America, Southampton, Long Island.
ALEX BELL (1877-1954) Oahu Country Club, Hawaii,
Alexander Peebles Bell, born 25th August 1877 in Anstruther, Fife, son of
Thomas Bell, a cooper and his wife Margaret Peebles. Alex ' Sandy' Bell moved with his parents and three sisters to Edinburgh in 1890 and
was living at 258, Leith Walk. Sandy Bell served a five year apprenticeship as a club maker with James H. Hutchison in his workshop on the
West Links North Berwick. Among the other apprentices mentioned below were David Stephenson, Robert Johnstone and Alex McLaren who pioneered
golf in Australia, California and Hawaii.
David Stephenson emigrated to America in 1898 and was appointed greenkeeper and instructor at San Francisco Golf Club. He was followed by
Robert Johnstone who recommended Alex Bell for the vacant position at San Rafael Golf Club. Bell emigrated to America and arrived in
California on 18th May 1901. He remained at the Happy Valley links during the summer and in the winter he assisted Robert Johnstone at the
Presidio links in San Francisco. In 1905 when Johnstone moved to Seattle, Sandy Bell took over at San Francisco Golf and Country Club at
Alex McLaren sailed from North Berwick to Melbourne, Australia in 1903 and four years later he was invited to take up a position in
Honolulu in the Territory of Hawaii. He arrived on Friday 15th November 1907 and was the first pro at Oahu Country Club. He set about
lengthening the nine-hole Oahu course, and adding more difficult bunkers. He was also asked by landowner Samuel Damon to upgrade the
neighbouring course at Moanalua Golf Club laid out in 1898 by Donald MacIntyre from Bonhill, Dunbartonshire. Macintyre apprenticed at
the Royal Botanic Gardens, Edinburgh and was assisted by Alexander Gravie in laying out the Moanalua gardens. When Alex McLaren moved
to Annandale Golf Club, California in 1909, Sandy Bell was appointed head pro at Oahu Country Club where he extended the course to
eighteen holes in 1913. Sandy married Jennie Smith and resided with their twins Arthur and Bernice on Puunui Avenue adjacent to the
Bell was an outstanding instructor and coached Codie Austin winner of the Women's Champion of The Hawaiian Island two consecutive years
from 1935. Sandy designed and laid out the nine-hole course at Maui Country Club, Hawaii with the assistance of Willie McEwan in 1927.
Art Campbell was head pro at Pebble Beach 1966-1978
In October 1930, Sandy hosted a meeting at Oahu Country Club to establish the Hawaiian Professional Golfers Association which was attended
by twelve charter members. That year the City of Honolulu proposed to lay out a public golf course and Sandy Bell recommended Donald Mackay
(below) to assist in the design and management. Mackay and Bell were club makers in North Berwick, Scotland and Dan Mackay was the golf
professional at Dayton Community Golf Course in Ohio.
Dan Mackay designed the Ala Wai Municipal Golf Course and four holes were open for play in December 1930. At the time it was the only public
golf course in Hawaii. The course was originally run by the Hawaii Territorial Fair Commission and when that was abolished upon Hawaii
becoming a state, the City and County of Honolulu took over the land and the course was extended to 18 holes in 1937.
Sandy's son Arthur 'Art' Bell joined his father as professional at Oahu before being appointed to the California Golf Club of San Francisco.
Art Bell won the Hawaiian Open in 1931 and 1932. He also won the Aloha Section Matchplay Championship in 1931 and 1932. He played in the
Masters on several occasions, won California State Open in 1939, 1947 and 1956, and the Northern California PGA in 1943 and 1949. Art was
appointed head pro at Pebble Beach in 1966-1978 and among his students was Tom Watson who as a Stanford undergrad took lessons from Art Bell
at Pebble Beach.
Sandy Bell retired in 1944 and died in San Francisco on 14 May 1954 and is buried in Cypress Lawn Memorial Park, Colma, San Mateo County,
California. Alexander P. Bell was inducted into the Hawaiian Golf Hall of Fame in 1989.
(Left to Right) Isaac S.Mackie, Jack Hobens (North Berwick), Alex Ross, George
Thomson (North Berwick)
1904 US Open, Glen View Golf Club, Illinois
ROBERT BERTRAM (1829-1871) Grand National
Robert Bertram, born 31st March 1829 in North Berwick son of
Peter Bertram, baker and his wife Elizabeth Edington. Robert worked as a baker in the family business situated in the north portion of the
property now occupied by the Chemist at 66 High Street. Bertram and was one of the first to emerge from the town with a talent for golf. In
1855, at the age of 23 years he joined Tantallon Golf Club, and was the only member playing off scratch. He won the Club Medal in 1855, 1856,
1857 and 1861. He was also a member of Dirleton Castle Golf Club whose members played over Gullane Hill. Bertram represented Dirleton Castle
in the first golf championship to be played - The Grand National Foursomes Tournament at St Andrews in 1857. It was organised by Colonel
James Ogilvie Fairlie and Lord Eglington of the Prestwick Club. Bertram was the first winner of the Wotherspoon Medal at Dirleton Castle Golf
Club in 1858 and again in 1860 and he won the Patron's Medal in 1858. Robert Bertram died in 1871 at the age of 39 years and is buried in St
Andrew Kirk graveyard in Kirk Ports, North Berwick.
ROBERT BOLTON (1880-1940) Highlands Golf
Club, Missouri, USA
Robert Bolton born 16th April 1880 in Haddington,
East Lothian son of Alexander Bolton, blacksmith and his wife Margaret Neill. The family moved to North Berwick in 1881 and were living in
Ellangowan, 31, St Andrew Street while his father employed a number of men in the smiddy in Forth Street Lane (Somerville Court). His father
moved the smiddy to 15 Melbourne Place and with the increase in profit from the blacksmith business he purchased property at Nos. 11, 13, 15
and 27 Melbourne Place. Robert and his brother David were licensed as caddies on the West Links in 1892. Robert served an apprenticeship as a
clubmaker and was a member of Bass Rock Golf Club in North Berwick.
At the age of nineteen years Robert Bolton emigrated to America in 1899 and was appointed greenkeeper and instructor at Riverside Golf Club,
Illinois. His contact would have been the president of the club Robert Somerville, a Scotsman and successful Chicago businessman and also
a Freemason connection. The Riverside 'Sports and Pastimes' committee organised the handicap sweepstake and each contestant put in two balls
which were awarded to the winner so that the fortunate player would be well stocked for the rest of the season. Bob Bolton helped to organise
the team matches with Exmoor Country Club. During the winter months he moved to Texas where he was greenkeeper and pro at the newly laid out
course at Galveston Country Club and also at Dallas Country Club before he returned north in the spring.
In August 1899, Robert Bolton played in a Professional tournament at Oconomowoc Golf Club, Wisconsin and finished in the top ten. The winner
was Henry Turpie pro at Edgewater Golf Club. The Chicago Tribune reported that the Riverside clubhouse had burnt down and many of the members
lost their outfits and equipment in the fire. The clubhouse was rebuilt and on Bolton's return from his winter station he was kept busy filling
the orders before the formal opening of the new clubhouse on Decoration day in April 1900. When Bob Bolton left Riverside he was followed by
Andrew J. Christie, a clubmaker from Glasgow who was probably trained by John Letters & Co Ltd. In 1902 Robert S. Simpson from 13 Victoria
Street, Carnoustie took over as professional at Riverside, not to be confused with Robert Simpson, the famous clubmaker from Links Parade,
In 1900 Bob Bolton was appointed the first professional at Rockford Country Club where he lodged at 324 West State Street. The nine hole
course was designed by Herbert Tweedie a member of Royal Liverpool Golf Club. Herbert and his brother John played in the first interclub
match between Royal Liverpool and Tantallon Golf Club at North Berwick in 1881 which developed into the international matches between
Scotland and England.
Although Robert Bolton was too young to caddie for Herbert Tweedie in the interclub matches at North Berwick, his connection with the
Scottish town would have been enough for Bolton to secure the position of greenkeeper at Rockford. When Bob left in 1903 he recommended
Fred McLeod as his replacement. That year Bob was appointed head pro at St Joseph Country Club, Missouri. In 1905 he played in the Western
Open at Cincinnati Golf Club where he met up with Fred McLeod who finished in fifth place. Bob's mother died in 1907 in North Berwick and
he returned to Scotland. In March the following year Bob travelled back to America accompanied by his brother John and his school friend
Leslie Brownlee, a pro in Arkansas. Thier contact listed on the passenger manifest was C.M.Carter secretary of the Kansas City and Birlington
Railroad Company and a member of the St Joseph Country Club. Bob Bolton was attached to the East Hills Golf Club now Stonecrest residential
development. The first designated landing strip at St Joseph was on East Hills golf course.
In 1909 their father Alex Bolton retired at the age of 53 years and sailed to America on the Lusitania with Mary, Ella, Madge, Alex Jnr. and
joined Robert, David and John in St Joseph, Missouri. John and Alex served in WW1, David moved to Montana, Margaret married and settled in
California and Alex Jnr. worked for Standard Oil Company. John was employed by John S. Brittain Dry Goods Company, 4th Street and Jules
Street, St Joseph, Missouri.
In 1912, Bob was appointed the first manager and golf instructor at the newly opened Highlands Golf Club of St Joseph when it was located on
the site of the present Moila Country Club. He was at Highlander for sixteen years prior to WW1. During the winter months he started indoor
golf in the clubhouse which was popular with the members and each year he played in the Trans-Mississippi Golf Association pro tournament.
Bob Bolton moved to Lawrence Country Club in 1921 and then to the United States Army facility at Fort Leavenworth in 1926, both in Kansas.
At Leavenworth he was listed as golf instructor at the Officers Club, and lived with his wife Sadie Middleton in Park Avenue where they
remained until his retirement. Bolton also manufactured 'Bobby Bolton' golf clubs which were used extensively in army circles. Their
neighbours in Leavenworth Penitentiary included the notorious gangster Machine Gun Kelly.
The property in North Berwick owned by their father Alex Bolton was administered by a Trust while the family were in America. Robert's father
lived at 1112 Powell Street, St Joseph and died on 23rd January 1924, aged 65 years and is buried in Mount Auburn Cemetery. John Bolton
is also buried in Mount Auburn Cemetery. The death of Robert Bolton was carried in the Chicago Tribune under the header 'Robert Bolton is Dead,
was once golf professional to Old East Hills Club'. Robert Bolton died 8th June 1940 and is buried in the Platte City Cemetery, St Joseph,
Missouri. He planned and supervised the layout of many of the early golf courses in Chicago and Rockford, Illinios.
JAMES BRASH (1909-2000) Prestonfield Golf
James Ledgerwood Brash, born 10th October 1909 at 2 Church Street,
Coldstream, son of Henry Brash, stonemason, and his wife Abigail Ledgerwood. In 1895, his father Henry Brash was living in Melbourne Place,
North Berwick and on 14th April 1896 he was granted a license as a caddie on the West Links. Henry moved to Coldstream before returning to North
Berwick with his wife and family. On leaving school James Brash apprenticed as a club-maker with Ben Sayers & Son and in 1939 he married
Sheila Bissett, daughter of Andrew Bissett who continued the club-making business of James H. Hutchison on the West Links at North Berwick.
Brash was a member of Bass Rock Golf Club and Rhodes Golf Club in North Berwick where he won his first medal competition in 1927. The highlight
of his amateur career was winning the Esmond Trophy in 1929. He played in the 1937 Open Championship at Carnoustie and was appointed golf
professional at Prestonfield Golf Club, Edinburgh. James applied for a work permit in the USA but was refused following the 'Great Depression'
and remained at Prestonfield for the rest of his career.
Arnaud Edgar, grandson of Arnaud Massy was assistant to James Brash at Prestonfield for four years before being appointed assistant to Maynard
Goldsmith (listed below) pro at Royal Cape Golf Club, South Africa. James Brash and his family lived at 61, Durham Road, Portobello, and he
died 24th December 2000 aged 91 years.
ALAN BRODIE (1896-1978) Jefferson Lakeside
Country Club, Virginia, USA
Alan McGregor Brodie born 2nd April 1896 at Elco
House, Forth Street, North Berwick, son of Peter Brodie, post master and his second wife Euphemia Souter. Alan's father, was famous for being
the North Berwick telegraph officer who received the urgent telegram that Young Tom Morris's wife was seriously ill in St Andrews while he
was playing a challenge match at North Berwick in 1875. Alan's father was also Provost of the Royal Burgh of North Berwick for twenty-four
years and founder member of Tantallon Golf Club.
Alan caddied on the West Links from the age of ten and is listed in the misdemeanors book for 'refusing to carry when called on' by the Caddie
Master. He was banned from the course from 13th-19th June 1911. At the age of 14, Brodie started a five year apprenticeship as a clubmaker with
Ben Sayers & Son, and following WW1, Alan was granted a professional license on the West Links.
Wilfred Thomson from North Berwick was pro at Hermitage Country Club in Richmond, Virginia USA and when the neighbouring Jefferson Lakeside
Country Club were looking for a pro he recommended Alan Brodie. The committee sent off a telegram and in typical Scottish frugality, Brodie
wired back 'Interested in proposal - Send particulars'.
He sailed for America on the steamer S.S. Algeria, and arrived in New York on 19th December 1921. Brodie was accompanied on the journey by Jimmy
Livingstone who was taking up the position of golf pro at Greenville, South Carolina. Alan was appointed greenkeeper and pro at Lakeside where he
remained for forty years. He married Eugenia 'Jean' Archer from Lenoir, North Carolina and they rented rooms at 819 West Franklin Street, Richmond.
Jennings Culley reporter on the Richmond Times-Dispatch wrote, "Alan Brodie was a charmer, an entertaining guy who could spin a yarn better than
a stand-up comic and could brighten a tough day with a humorous anecdote. He was your typical club pro from the old school - not a flashy player,
but a fine teacher, club repairman, greenkeeper and goodwill ambassador."
Brodie was never a super player. He was twice wounded while serving with the Royal Scots in WW1 and was left with a limp after being struck by
a mortar fragment just 36 hours before Armistice Day.
In 1935 Alan Brodie and his wife returned to Scotland for a holiday. They were joined on the trip by David Cairns and his family. David was a
native of Dunbar and head pro at Brookwood Country Club, Chicago.
In July each year, the Richmond Women's Golf Association organise the Alan McGregor Brodie Couples Tournament, played at Jefferson Lakeside Country
Club and for 17 years after he retired, Brodie would attend the awards ceremony.
Alan died Mayday 1978 at the age of 82 years at 4901 Chamberlayne Avenue, Richmond the last survivor of the popular Scottish triumvirate in Richmond
professional golf. While he was at Lakeside native Scots Tommy Galloway (Glasgow) and Bobby Cruickshank (Granton-On-Spey) were at Hermitage Country
Club and Country Club of Virginia respectively. In the early 1930s Brodie once led the State Open on the final day before a thunderstorm struck. In
driving rain, he four putted the 17th and three putted the 18th to finish third behind Cruickshank. Alan became an American citizen at the District Court Richmond on
15th April 1932.
Alan's uncle Jim Souter was the pro at Tuxedo Golf Club, New York. Alan and Jean visited North Berwick in late 1934 for the final time before
returning to America in February. For many years after Alan's death his wife Jean would preside over the awards ceremony for the Alan McGregor Brodie
LESLIE BROWNLEE (1885-1970) Fort Smith
Country Club, Arkansas, USA
Leslie George Alexander Brownlee born 9th May
1885, at 4 Brighton Place, Stirling, son of George Brownlee, a bank accountant and his wife Margaret Glass. George was born in North Berwick
in 1857 and Margaret was the daughter of James Glass, a well known North Berwick fisherman and caddie. Leslie's father moved to America and
his parents divorced. From 1890, he was living with his mother and grandmother at 38 (now 46) High Street, while his mother had the stationers
shop at 44 High Street. In 1903, Margaret Glass married Donald M Jackson, a famous amateur golfer from North Berwick and they lived in Edinburgh.
At the age of eleven years, Leslie Brownlee was granted a licensed as a 1st class caddie on the West Links on 20th July 1896 and on leaving
North Berwick Public School he worked for the Civil Service in Edinburgh prior to joining the professional ranks in the USA. He emigrated in
March 1905 and joined Jamie Campbell from North Berwick, the pro at Mount Airy Golf Club, Philadelphia. In 1906 Brownlee was employed by C.D.
Mowen of the Kelley Trust Company who appointed Brownlee pro at Fort Smith Country Club, one of only two golf clubs in Arkansas. Brownlee laid
out the 2,700 yards nine-hole course with skinned greens.
In April 1907 the American Golfer magazine reported that Fred McLeod who has been wintering at San Antonio and James Simpson who has been at
Dallas, played with Leslie Brownlee, the Fort Scott professional. McLeod was on his way to the Midlothian Country Club of Chicago and Simpson
of the Riverside Country Club. David Melville, the professional at Little Rock was also on hand for the event.
Brownlee laid out the course at Lakeview Country Club in 1907, the forerunner to the present Oklahoma City Golf and Country Club, where he was
joined by his step-brother Art Jackson a clubmaker from North Berwick in October 1909. Brownlee shared the record score of 31 for the nine-hole
courses across America. He laid out the nine-hole-course at Muskogee C.C, Oklahoma with sand greens in 1908 and recommended Bill Nichols from
North Berwick as their first pro. In 1909, Brownlee recommended Arthur Kendall from North Berwick as the next pro at Fort Smith. As teenagers,
Leslie, Arthur and Jim Campbell lived next to each other in the High Street, North Berwick.
The first Oklahoma Open Championship was played in 1910 at Tulsa Country Club. The two players in contention were Leslie Brownlee of Lakeview
Country Club in Oklahoma City and Bill Nichols pro at Muskogee Town and Country Club. By the second nine holes Nichols had an eight stoke
advantage and Brownlee retired.
In 1910, Leslie Brownlee gave up his career in golf and became a medical student in Oklahoma City. He qualified as an Oculist specialising
in treating diseases of the eye and he moved to Birmingham, Alabama where he practiced at 926 Woodward Buildings. Brownlee was reinstated
as an amateur. In 1912 the Southern Golf Association amateur championship was played at Belle Meade Country Club, Nashville where the local
pro was George Livingstone from North Berwick. Representing Birmingham, Alabama was Leslie Brownlee who had not seen Livingstone for four
years. In 1921 Brownlee was runner-up in the Alabama State (Amateur) Championship was played at Roebuck. Leslie lived with his wife Ruth
and son Leslie at 1017 Elm Street, Birmingham. Brownlee retired to Miami, Florida where he died 17th July 1970, aged 85 years. Clubs marked with Leslie Brownlee's name are occasionally offered for sale. Most recently a 42" wooden shafted club with brass and
wooden head was sold at auction.
MICHAEL BURKE (1905-1932) L'Ile Rousse,
Michael 'Sonny' Burke, born 28th January 1905 in Edinburgh son of John Burke,
proprietor of the Imperial Hotel, North Berwick and his wife Annie Wynn. Sonny Burke was one of Ben Sayers first apprentices when the
company move to the club makers workshop beside the first tee on the West Links in 1917. Burke was appointed assistant pro to Philip Wynne
from North Berwick at Chingford in 1923. He then moved to France where he was assistant to Norman Grant at Golf d'Aix-les-Bains a spa town
in the French Alps. Sonny worked in Monte Carlo and then at L'Ile Rousse on Corsica where the Aga Khan had laid out a new course. Burke
died of teric fever on Corsica in 1932, aged 27 years. His cousin Jim Wynn from North Berwick was also a golf pro in South Africa.
CUTHBERT S. BUTCHART (1876-1955) Biltmore
C.C, Westchester NY
Cuthbert Strachan Butchart born 19th May 1876, Kinloch Street,
Carnoustie, son of John Butchart and his wife Jessie Nicoll. His father was listed as a 'House Wright Journeyman' which was a carpenter and
by 1890 his occupation was listed as a golf club maker. At the age of 14 years Cuthbert was employed as a caddie at Barry.
In 1902, Cuthbert Butchart moved to North Berwick and was employed as a clubmaker with Ben Sayers & Son and resided at 14 Quality Street
(above the Ship Inn). Sayers played in several exhbition matches at Royal County Down G.C. where Butchart was previously engaged. In 1903
Butchart was granted a license as a pro on the West Links, North Berwick and was living in Melbourne Place. Two years later he moved to
Highgate G.C, and then to Berlin G.C, (1911-1914) and in 1913 he won the Open Championship of Germany. Following the start of WW1 many
foreigners living in Germany were the subject of arson attacks and Butchart's shop and contents where destroyed by fire. In 1915 he was
interred in Ruhleben concentration camp. Robert Murray (below) from North Berwick was also interned in Ruhleben. Following Butchart's
release in 1919 he returned to London. In December 1920 he emigrated with his wife Rosa to America and was appointed head pro at
Westchester-Biltmore Country Club, NY where Walter Hagen was hired to promote the new club and helped Tommy Armour get a job there while
still an amateur. During this period Butchart increased his club-making output and supplied many top pros including the clubs used by
Water Hagen when he won the 1922 British Open. Cuthbert Butchard died in New York in 1955.
BENJAMIN N CAMPBELL (1865-1908) Bridge Of Weir,
Benjamin Nice Campbell, born 3rd May 1865, High Street, Musselburgh, son
of John ‘Jack’ Campbell, golf caddie and his wife Christina Nice. His older brother Willie Campbell was the well known pro who emigrated to
Massachusetts. Ben and Willie were caddies on the links at Musselburgh while living with their parents at 2, Simpson Close, Millhill, Inveresk.
The family moved to North Berwick in July 1876 when their sister Christina was enrolled at the North Berwick Public School. They lived in Park
Place, North Berwick which today is Nos. 17-25 Old Abbey Road where they resided for over ten years.
Ben and Willie Campbell (b.1862) were granted a professional license at North Berwick and they entered the Open Championship from the town in
1885. Ben moved to 49 Millhill, Musselburgh and played in the Open Championship for over a decade from 1883 and his highest finish was third at
Musselburgh in 1886. Willie was the first greenkeeper and professional to be appointed to Ranfurly Castle GC (1889-94). Where he was joined by
his younger brother John Campbell and apprentice club-maker David Adams who moved to Alexandra Park Golf Club, Riddrie (1899-1910) and then to
Douglas Park Golf Club, Bearsden (1910- 1938). In 1889 Ben Campbell was appointed pro at the adjacent Bridge Of Weir GC (now defunct) from
William Campbell emigrated to America in 1894, sailing from Glasgow to Boston on the S.S.Carthaginian he arrived on the last day of March. Willie
was appointed greenkeeper and professional at the Country Club of Brookline. In May the following year he was joined in McLellan Street, Dorchester
by his wife Georgina Stewart and daughter Mary Hunter Campbell. In 1895 Willie moved to Myopia Country Club and in March 1896 George Douglas
from North Berwick was appointed to the Country Club of Brookline.
Campbell also assisted at Essex C.C before being appointed the first greenkeeper and head professional on the public links at Franklin Park golf
course. It was here that Georgina began to give lessons and is recognised as the first lady professional in America.
Ben Campbell continued to work as a club-maker at Musselburgh and North Berwick and was among a group of pro's who were invited to play at the
opening of the new Luffness course in October 1894, and the extended course at North Berwick in June 1895. Ben Campbell entered the Open
Championship at Prestwick in 1903. He died at 9, Kerrs Wynd, Inveresk, Musselburgh in 1908, aged 43 years. At that time his father Jack
Campbell was working as a caddie at North Berwick and in 1912 he died in Inveresk Poorhouse.
DOROTHY CAMPBELL Factfile
JAMES G CAMPBELL (1877-1925)
Country Club Of Mobile, Alabama, USA
James George Campbell
born 23rd May 1877 in Oxford Street, Edinburgh, son of James Campbell, Life Insurance Agent and his wife Margaret Shaw. In 1893 Jamie moved
to 41 High Street, North Berwick and was a licensed caddie on the West Links (No.35) North Berwick before being granted his professional
ticket on 19th July 1895.
Campbell emigrated to the USA in 1896 and was appointed to Baltimore Golf Club (MD). Later that year he was the first pro at Torresdale Golf
Club and laid out their nine-hole course, (now Union League of Philadelphia). Campbell's wife Mary was Irish and they married in 1898.
The 1900 US census has Jimmy and Mary Campbell residing on Chemung Street at East Second in Corning City, NY. Campbell moved to Belmont
Golf Association (now Aronimink G.C) Philadelphia (PA) 1898-99. He struck up a friendship with John Harrison from Musselburgh who was pro
at Ridgefield, Connecticut and in 1899, they were both appointed to Dayton Golf Club, Ohio. Campbell returned to Aronimink for a short
period in 1900 before joining Harrison at Delaware Field Club, (Wilmington DE) as the club's first pros and greenkeepers. In 1901, Campbell
remained at Wilmington Country Club while Jack Harrison went to Colonia Country Club in New Jersey and in 1903 Campbell moved to Mount Airy,
Philadelphia (PA) 1903-07.
Campbell won the Philadelphia Open in 1905 and 1907.
In 1905 Campbell was joined by Leslie Brownlee from North Berwick as his assistant at Mount Airy. In 1906, Brownlee was appointed pro at Fort
Smith C.C. in Arkansas. Mount Airy closed in 1907 and many of the members transferred to Whitemarsh Valley C.C (Lafayette Hill, PA) and in 1908
Campbell joined them as their pro. Jamie Campbell won the Philadelphia Open in 1905 and 1907 and was runner-up in 1908. He set a new course record at
Overbrook in 1907 with a 72, and broke the record at Whitemarsh with a 71 in 1910. Campbell played in four US Opens between 1902 and
His wife Mary Jane Wynne was born in Edgemont PA, and they had a son James 'George' Campbell in 1899. In 1912, Jamie Campbell moved to a new
course being constructed at Mt. Tom Country Club, Holyoke, Massachusetts by designer Donald Ross. Jamie struck up a friendship with Donald
Ross, a fellow Scot from Dornoch who was chairman of the green committee at Mt Tom for several years.
In 1916, Campbell wintered at Fruitland Park Golf Club in Florida and in the spring of that year he moved to the Country Club of Mobile,
Spring Hill, Alabama. When he arrived there was only a caddy shack and a dressing room, but within two years a new clubhouse was constructed
and the membership increased. Campbell was golf instructor with the club for nine years before tragedy struck on 29th December 1925 when Jamie and
his wife Mary Jane perished in a fire which destroyed the Mobile clubhouse.
It was reported in the Mobile Daily Register that the fire broke out shortly after 3am and moved so quickly through the building the
Campbell's were trapped in their apartment on the third floor. Their bodies were discovered wrapped in each others arms and they were buried
together in Pine Crest Cemetery on 4th January 1926.
It was reported that Jamie Campbell had $85,000 worth of Alabama bonds held in his name at the First National Bank of Mobile which were never
claimed and reverted to the state treasury. The clubhouse was rebuilt and two years later Campbell's friend Donald Ross redesigned the
course at Mobile.
H.BUDD CLARKE Sioux City Boat Club, Iowa,
Herbert 'Budd' Clarke, born 17th June 1896 in Cromer, Norfolk, moved to North
Berwick with his parents when his father James Clark was appointed manager of the Marine Hotel. At the age of twelve, Bud Clarke showed he had
talent. In 1908 he won the Elcho Medal played over the West Links with a score of 99-6=93. The following year tied for the first prize with
an outward score of 52 and an excellent inward 43 for a total of 95+2=97. In 1910, Clark won the Ben Sayers prize for the best nine-holes and
the scratch prize over the West Links with 100+6=106. He was a friend of Tommy Armour and his brother Alex. Budd Clarke joined the Glen
Golf Club at North Berwick and represented the Burgh club in the Amateur Championship at Sandwich in 1914. Following WW1 he joined Tantallon
Golf Club and played in the Amateur Championship in 1920 (Muirfield), 1921 (Hoylake) and 1922 (Prestwick). At the Amateur Championship in 1920
at Muirfield, Arnaud Massy described H.B Clarke as the best amateur golfer he had ever seen.
In 1922 Clarke won all five club scratch medals at Tantallon which remains a record. That year he won the Midlands Amateur Tournament, was
short listed for the Walker Cup team and won the Haldane Cup over the links at Gullane. A highlight of his time at Tantallon was being a
member of the winning Wemyss County Cup team in 1921 and 1922.
Ben Sayers Snr. arranged for him to visit his son George Sayers at Merion Cricket Club, (PA). In May 1923 Budd Clarke sailed for America
and according to his emigration papers he intended to stay for five months but remained in the USA for over twenty years.
He joined the professional ranks and was appointed to Rumson Country Club, (NJ). In 1924 he was at San Francisco Golf Club, the following
year he moved to Shenecossett Golf Club, Groton (CT), then to Minikahda Country Club, (MN). In 1926 Budd Clarke representing Minikahda
played in the Minnesota State Open Championship at Somerset Country Club and finished in sixth place. In 1928 he was attached to Sioux City
Boat Club, (IO) where his New York born wife Margaret Clarke organised the coffee shop. In 1930, Budd Clarke and fellow pro Alex Olson leased
the property of the Morningside Country Club in Sioux City. This was a new venture in club management and the stockholders were the members.
In the 1940s Clarke was living with Mrs Olive Parmelee at 604 Vernon Ave. Oakland, California where he was pro at the Benbow Hotel, near
Ferndale in Northern California. Herbert 'Bud' Clarke died in Alameda on 20th June 1958.
WILLIE COLLINS Knickerbocker Country
Club, New Jersey USA.
Willie Collins born 11th April 1878 at 148 Duke Street,
Leith, Edinburgh son of Richard Collins, Golf Club and Ball Maker and his wife Helen Leanart. Throughout the 1870s Richard Collins & Son
was listed at 148 Duke Street, where the family resided and the children attended Duncan Place Primary School.
As Leith Links became overcrowded, the golfers migrated to Musselburgh and then further down the coast to North Berwick, followed by the
club and ball makers. In 1887 Richard Collins moved to 41 Westgate, North Berwick (now 47, Westgate) and was employed as a greenkeeper.
In October that year he enrolled his children Richard (b.1874); John (b.1875); William (b.1878); Catherine (b.1879), Robert (b.1882)
Charlotte (1889) at the North Berwick Public School. Willie Collins was in the same class as Harry Reddie, David Stephenson, and Robert
M. Thomson who all emigrated to America and were involved in the golf industry.
In 1889, Richard Collins entered the Open Championship at Musselburgh from his base in Melbourne Mews, North Berwick. In 1890 he followed
Willie Thomson as pro at Tyneside Golf Club. Richard Collins was a founder member of the PGA in 1902. He laid out the new course at Western
Falls of Ryton in 1903 and remained with the Tyneside Club until 1912. James Collins was assistant to Richard Collins Snr at Tyneside in
1904. James joined the PGA in 1902 and had a couple of seasons at Varese Golf Club in Northern Italy in 1909. Richard's second son Willie
Collins emigrated to America in 1896 and set up a club and ball importing business at Richmond County Country Club on Staten Island, New
Richard Collins Jnr. was appointed pro at Saltburn-On-Sea (1899-1904), Cleveland Golf Club (1904-08), Ashton-On-Ribble (1910-11); Longcliffe
(1911-12). Richard Jnr.'s brother Robert P. Collins was instructor at Bamburgh Castle Golf Club before joining Willie in America in
December 1904. Their club makers workshop stocked items made at the Ryton factory run by Richard Collins Jnr and they shipped large
consignments of golf clubs from Richmond to a London sporting goods house. Collins also assisted in the new eighteen-hole course and the
old nine-hole course at Richmond.
In February 1899 an article appeared in the Brooklyn Daily Eagle reporting that the Richmond Club were in negotiations with Jack Park to
become their next professional. The report continued 'The club has not closed with young Park as it regards his terms a triffle high'.
Unfortunately in 1898 Willie Collins shot the second worst round ever in a US Open and the following year he was unattached.
Willie Collins taught President Woodrow Wilson to play golf
In 1901, Willie was appointed to Oakland Country Club, Bayside, Long Island, New York (1901-12), home to the famed amateur Walter Travis
who was a friend of Ben Sayers. The course disappeared in 1952 when the Long Island Expressway cut through the property. In 1912, Collins
moved to Bergen County Country Club and taught golf to financier Bernard Baruch, Englewood's Dwight Morrow and Woodrow Wilson.
In 1914 Collins resided in Day Lane, Tenafly and was the first pro at Knickerbocker Country Club, Tenafly, New Jersey. He entered the
Metropolitan Open at Fox Hills Golf Club, Staten Island in 1915. The field included North Berwick pros Robert G McDonald (Buffalo); Jack
Hobens (Englewood) ; Fred McLeod (Columbia) ; Tom Anderson (Montclair) ; J.R. Thomson ( Philadelphia); George Sayers (Merion) and Willie's
former school class-mate Robert M.Thomson (Glen Ridge); the winner was Gilbert Nicholls (Wilmington). In 1921 Willie hosted the inaugural
New Jersey Open at Knickerbocker and in 1926 he was followed as pro by Jack Hobens from North Berwick.
During the great depression of the late twenties Willie Collins was employed as a Real Estate Broker, residing with his New York born wife
Ella Cavanough and their son Donald in Hardenberg Avenue, Demarest, Bergen, New Jersey where they attended St Joseph's Church. Collins
served one term on the Demarest town council and Donald married the Demarest school principal. Willie and Ella are buried at Mt. Carmel
Cemetery in Tenafly.
MILLICENT J COUPER J.P.(1902-1971) Scottish Ladies Amateur
Millicent Jeannette Couper born 24th June 1902 in Edinburgh, son of John C.
Couper, Writer to the Signet, and his wife Elsie Blyth. Millicent represented Scotland in the Home Internationals seven times between 1929-1956
and won the Scottish Ladies Amateur Championship at Turnberry in 1933. The Couper family resided in Kaimend House over looking the childrens
course which they inherited through marriage of the Hall-Blyth's. Milllicent's father Sir John C. Couper was secretary of the Honourable
Company of Edinburgh Golfers at Muirfield. Millicent Couper was Captain of the Glen Ladies Golf Club in 1955-59 and was elected the first
Lady Provost of the Royal Burgh of North Berwick in 1965. She died 10th July 1971.
STANLEY CURRIE High Point Golf Club, USA
Stanley Currie born Norman Charles Earnest Currie, 28th August 1894, Leith, Edinburgh,
son of William Currie, porter, and his wife Sarah Jane Stephens. His father was head porter at the Marine Hotel, North Berwick and the family moved
to the town in 1896, living at 36 Forth Street. Shortly after they arrived in North Berwick his father was employed at the Aerated Water works in
Forth Street Lane, owned by Provost John MacIntyre. The family moved to 1 Viewforth where Violet Currie was born in 1898. At the age of ten years,
Norman Currie was granted a caddie license on the West Links and later he received his professional badge.
Norman Currie emigrated to America, sailing from Glasgow on RMS Transylvania he arrived in New York on 19th April 1927. He altered his name to Stanley
Currie on his arrival in America when he was appointed professional at High Point Country Club, North Carolina. In 1928 he joined the staff at the
downtown indoor golf course, and in 1930 he was appointed caddie-master at Fox Chapel Golf Club, Allegheny, Pensylvania. In 1940 he was living with
his wife Elizabeth at 502 North Ave. W, Pittsburgh and had a golf equipment and instruction business at 719 Liberty Avenue Pittsburgh.
JOSEPH DALGLEISH (1860-1941) Nairn Golf
Club, Scotland. UK
Joseph Dalgleish born 1860 in Aberlady, son of John Dalgleish,
farm worker and his wife Margaret Ness. Joe's father died when he was an infant and his mother listed as a pauper in 1860, raised four
In 1878, Joe Dalgleish joined the army, rising to the rank of sergeant in the 61st Brigade, Royal Scots Fusiliers. In 1882 he was posted to
Zululand in South Africa and then transferred to the East Indies in 1885. He left the army and returned to Scotland in 1890 and was appointed
club-maker and professional at Nairn Golf Club. In August 1890, Dalgleish played an exhibition match with Harry Vardon at Nairn. It was one of
the first exhibition match to charge gate-money of 5d which was castigated in the press. He played in the Open Championship in 1900 (St Andrews),
1901 (Muirfield) and 1903 (Prestwick).
Dalgleish was known as the 'Father of Golf in Kansas City.'
His youngest son James (1895-1970) and Joe emigrated to America in 1907. James was appointed pro at Evanston Golf Club, KS. In 1912 the members
at Evanston hired Donald Ross to design a new eighteen hole course and James Dalgleish was asked to carry out Mr. Ross's plan. The club changed
it's name to Hillcrest Golf & Country Club and James Dalgleish became known as the 'Father of Golf in Kansas City.' He designed courses at
MacDonald Golf Club, Wichita KS. (1911), Bellevue Country Club, Atchison KS. (1924), Lodge Nine Resort at Deerwood MO. (1920) and Pine Beach East
at Gull Lake, MO. (1928), Swope Park, KS (1917), Bruce Dodson Private Estate Course, KS (1919), Log Cabin Club, MO. (1923), Eastwood Hills, KS (1928)
and St Andrews Golf Club which James Dalgleish owned himself in 1925.
Joe Dalgleish was appointed to the Country Club of Troy in New York before moving to Westfield Golf Club, later named Echo Lake Golf Club in
Crawford, New Jersey. Joe Dalgleish returned to Scotland and was living at 20 Darnell Road, Trinity, Edinburgh. Recently two scared head woods
made by Joe Dalgleish were auctioned at Sotherby's.
Willie Dalgleish was also a club-maker and emigrated to America in 1911 and was engaged as pro at Jamesville Golf Club, Newark. His father
Joseph Dalgleish arrived in New York on 24th June 1912 and joined Willie at Jamesville, Newark OH. Willie moved to Hammond Golf Club , Indiana and in
February 1918 he enlisted in the Canadian Expeditionary Force stationed at a camp in Toronto. Following WW1 Willie was appointed head pro at
Tacoma Country & Golf Club, WA. then to Alderwood Country Club, Portland in 1926 before accepting a post at Butte Country Club, MT. two
ALEXANDER DENHOLM (1886-1950)
Royal Queensland Golf Club, Brisbane, AUS
born 17 March 1886 at 17 Melbourne Square, North Berwick, son of Archibald Denholm, carpenter and his wife Jane Bathgate. Alex apprenticed
as a carpenter and joined Bass Rock Golf Club at the age of 16 years. In 1902, he enlisted in the 8th Royal Scots and served seven-and-a-half
years with the Territorial Force. In 1911, Alex Denholm sailed from Glasgow to Quebec to take up the position of assistant golf professional
to George Livingstone (listed below) from North Berwick. At the outbreak of WW1 Alex enlisted in the Canadian Scottish at Winnipeg and served
four years in France.
In 1913, he was selected to represent the British-Canadian Rifle Team in the competition at Bisley in England. At the start of WW1
the men of the 79th Cameron Highlanders joined with other units at Valcartier Camp, Quebec to form the Canadian Over-Seas Expeditionary
Force and Alex signed up on 7th September 1914.
He had the honour of being chosen as sergeant in charge of the bodyguard to His Majesty the King and Lord Kitchener when they
reviewed the Canadian troops on Salisbury Plain.
During the Great War he served as a machine gunner and infantryman, and was in the first
contingent of the Canadian Scottish regiment to leave Canada for France. He was promoted from the rank of sergeant to major, was mentioned in
dispatches twice by Sir Douglas Haig, and awarded the D.C.M. In March 1915 a report in the Haddingtonshire Courier told the story of how Colour
Sergeant Alex Denholm was dispatched with the 1st Canadian Division to France in February and became part of the First British Army under
Haig. As thousands of troops massed behind the Allied lines in preparation for Haig's offensive at Neuve Chapelle, Alex Denholm almost
literally bumped into his brother Jock, a Sergeant with the 8th Royal Scots. In great excitement the pair went looking for their younger
brother Robert, who was also in the Royal Scots. The account reveals that they found him 'doing a bit of cooking' He was surprised and
overjoyed to see them. A few days later the Canadian Division and the Royal Scots were involved in the punishing Battle of Neuve Chapelle
which the brothers survived. Following the end of WW1, Alex worked in government service in Canada. In 1922, he and his wife Prudence Dickson
returned to Great Britain sailing from St John's in Newfoundland to Liverpool.
After spending time with their families they continued their journey to Australia on the SS Socrates, arriving in Sydney 1st September 1922. He
found work in the well known sports equipment shop of McMillan Deery Co. Ltd at 252 George Street, Sydney. Duncan and Charlie McMillan were
Scottish emigrants who persuaded the City Council to layout what was to become Moore Park Municipal Golf Links near the Sydney cricket ground.
Duncan McMillan established Moore Park Golf Club and appointed Alex Denholm as the teaching pro. In September 1923, Alex moved to Queensland where he was appointed pro
at Townsville G.C (1923-25), in the tropical northern territory beside the Great Barrier Reef where Alex lived with his wife in Norris Street,
Hermit Park, Townsville.
'Wee Denholm' described as short, thickset with broad shoulders, and looked like a golfer, moved to Stanthorpe Golf Club, south of Brisbane in 1925,
and the following year he was appointed the first greenkeeper and professional at Indooroopilly Golf Club in St Lucia, a suburb of Brisbane. At
the opening of the Indooroopilly course in July 1926, the Premier of Queensland William McCormack drove the first ball. This was followed by a fourball
match between the professionals, Mike Stafford (Brisbane) and Alex Denholm (Indooroopilly) against Dick Carr (Sandgate) and Arthur Spencer (Royal
Queensland). At the presentation of prizes, Mr McCormack was gifted a driver made by Alex Denholm.
Harry Sinclair, the Australian Amateur Champion in 1924 and 1925 was a member of Moore Park in the south of Sydney. He played most of his golf
at the Australian Golf Club and was a friend of Alex and Duncan Denholm. In 1926, Sinclair entered the Amateur Championship at Muirfield in
Scotland and the Denholm brothers organised for Harry Sinclair to play several practice rounds with Ben Sayers at North Berwick.
In 1928 Alex won the Queensland Professional Golfers Championship. He led the qualifying at Yeerongpilly GC and reached the matchplay final against
Charles Brown (Goodna GC). Brown led by three after the first 18-holes but Denholm recovered in the second round and won 2 and 1.
When Denholm left Indooroopilly in December 1928, Alex was presented with a silver tea and coffee service on the steps outside the clubhouse as the
professional was not allowed to enter the members area. In turn Alex presented the club with a 50 year old golf club and ball which was kept as
a memento of Denholm's time at St Lucia.
In January 1929 Alex was appointed head pro at Royal Queensland Golf Club, after 25 candidates applied for the position. He lived with his wife
in Taringa, a suburb of Brisbane in a house they called 'Tantallon' on Swan Road. Reginald Want was Alex's first assistant at Royal Queensland
followed by Ossie Walker (1929-35) and then S.O.'Digger' Leary
In 1929, Denholm was elected secretary of the Queensland Professional Golfers Association and in 1932 he was elected President. He continued on
the Queensland PGA committee until the 1940s when he was conferred a Life Member of the PGA of Australia.
Alex won the 72 hole qualifying tournament to represent Queensland in the Spalding Australian Overseas Professional Championship in 1931.
Played in Melbourne, Denholm finished third equal. The winner was given an all expenses trip to the British Open by A. C. Spalding Ltd.
In 1933 he won the Dunlop Cup, Associates Trophy, and the Yeerongpilly Armistice Cup after a four-way tie. In 1934 he won the Royal Queensland
Professional purse with rounds of 73 and 72 and his new assistant Ken Jones was runner-up. That year he also won the Indooroopilly purse and
tied for second place in the Queensland Open Championship and won the scratch pize at the AIF cup scoring 68 to equal the course record.
In 1935, Alex (right) won two big handicap events, the Armistice Cup and the Yeerongpilly Cup. He also had the biggest share of money purses contested at
the Queensland Open Championship Meeting, including the first prize of £20 in the Veteran competition.
Denholm's name can be seen on the Royal Queensland Autumn Cup (1934) and the AIF Cup (1935) this was a competition for ex-soldiers. The trophy
took the form of a silver reproduction of an 18-pounder German shell which had been captured from the Turks by Australian soldiers.
An article in the Sydney Morning Herald in 1933 entitled 'The Golfing Denholm Brothers', discribed how Alex Denholm was competing in the
Queensland Professional Open on the banks of the Brisbane river, while in the background, Alex's brother George D. Denholm, the purser on
the liner Jervis Bay, had just arrived from London, and swept up stream past the golfers. The Jervis Bay was owned by the shipping company
Aberdeen and Commonwealth Liners which berthed at Hamilton Cold Stores Wharf on the Brisbane River. The following day Alex boarded the Jervis
Bay and sailed with George to Sydney where they met up with their younger brother Duncan Denholm pro at Mossman Golf Club. The other brothers
Jock and Bob Denholm remained in North Berwick and in 1928 Jock was a semi-finalist in the Irish Open and Bob represented Scotland in the
Home Internationals. In 1930, Bob Denholm was invited to represent Great Britain and Ireland in the Walker Cup team but declined because it
was too expensive. George D. Denholm with a handicap of two (Scottish Grading) played his golf on the municipal course in Victoria Park,
Brisbane. Their father, a foreman joiner died in 1935 and did not play golf.
Norman Von Nadi, a young caddie at Royal Queensland Golf Club under the supervision of Alex Denholm, became the first Australia born golf
professional to win on the British PGA Tour. He won seven events in 1947 which remains a record. Von Nadi was the first Australian to lead
the PGA money list and the first to win the Vardon Trophy.
In April 1930 Denholm played in an exhibition match against Walter Hagen and Joe Kirkwood at Royal Queensland. A large gallery followed the
match which Denholm and J.Quarton were defeated 2 and 1. In 1939, Denholm played an exhibition match at Royal Queensland against the famous
American woman athlete Babe Didrikson Zaharias. She was later reinstated as an amateur and won the Ladies British Amateur Open Championship
at Gullane in 1947.
In 1934 an International match was organised between the USA and Australia as part of the Melbourne Centenary Trophy weekend and Alex Denholm
was selected to represent the Australian professionals. The matches were played at Lakes Golf Club, Sydney and the American team included Leo
Diegel, Denny Shute and Harry Cooper. Also in the American party was Jimmy Thomson and his wife film star Viola Dana. Jimmy Thomson (listed
below) was originally from North Berwick and his father Wilfred Thomson attended North Berwick Public School at the same time as Alex Denholm.
In the International match Alex finished all square against the American Harry Cooper and according to the Australian press this was one of
Alex's finest golfing moments. To complete the North Berwick connection Jimmy Thomson won the Melbourne Centenary Trophy.
Alex Denholm was one of only a handful of pro's in Australia to have a range of golf clubs stamped with their own name. His branded clubs
were sold in the sports department of W.J Overell & Sons, The Valley, Brisbane. The heads were forged in Scotland and comprised of a brassie,
mid-iron, mashie and putter. Recently a set of clubs form the 1930s branded with Alex's name were sold at auction for $750 . The irons had hand
forged heads and steel shafts, while the woods had hickory shafts. They were branded with A.G. Spalding Bros. and Alex Denholm.
In July 1942, Denholm was pictured in the Courier-Mall (Brisbane) newspaper, working a drilling lathe in a munitions factory during WW2. When
Alex retired in 1947, Len King secretary at Royal Queensland during the period Alex was pro, organised a fund raising committee for a
memorial to Alex's twenty years with the club. Several of the Brisbane club's held an Open Golf Day with all proceeds going to the fund,
including Royal Queensland, Tattersall's Golfing Society at Nudgee and Indooroopilly. Alex Denholm's outstanding career included more victories
in Queensland handicap events than any other player and he held the stroke record for the Dunlop Cup for 14 years. He won the Queensland
Championship, and the Australian Overseas Championship. He holed in one six-times in Queensland and twice in Scotland. Alex lived at 66 Albert
Street, Margate a district of Brisbane and died in Mater Private Hospital on 30th December 1953 aged 67 years.
DUNCAN DENHOLM (1892-1968) Australian Golf
Club, Sydney, AUS
Archibald Duncan Denholm born 29th March 1892 in North Berwick
was the brother of Alex mentioned above. Duncan was also a scratch medallist of the Bass Rock Golf Club and represented the club in the Amateur
Championship in 1920. Duncan was also a member of the Caddie Institute (Hope Rooms) provided by Miss Lucy Hope. The caddies organised the Angus
Golf Club and Lucy Hope provided the prizes including the Angus Medal which was won by Duncan Denholm in 1914.
Duncan emigrating to Australia in 1924 and was appointed assistant pro to Fred Popplewell at the Australian Golf Club in Sydney. (Fred Popplewell
won the Australian Open Championship in 1925 and 1928). In 1925, Duncan was the first pro to be appointed to Balgowlah Golf Club. In 1930 he
moved to Mosman Golf Club, situated on Middle Head on the northern shores of Sydney Harbour where he lived with his wife Mabel Hilda Denholm,
daughter Jean Elizabeth Denholm and son John Archibald Denholm at 10 Macpherson Street, Cremorne until 1954.
Duncan qualified for the Australian PGA Cup in 1931, played at the New South Wales Golf Club in La Perouse, a suburb of Sydney. At the professional
tournament to celebrate the opening of the Sydney Harbour Bridge in 1932 he played with Peter Merrilees (below) from North Berwick. Peter was two
years older and they both attended the Public School in School Road.
Mosman or 'Swaggerdom' as the Sydney Labour Daily dubbed the members of Mosman Golf Club, which reflected the 'snobbery' attached to golf in Australia
at the time. Like most clubs in Australia, women were associate members, had no voting rights and were not allowed to play on Wednesday
and Saturday afternoons or public holidays, a restriction on women golfers that remained until the passage of equal opportunity legislation
in 1984. The nine-hole course at Mosman Golf Club was commandeered by the military during WW2 and consequently the course was closed by
the Australian Government in 1940. Following WW2 Duncan Denholm joined the NSW Police Department. Alex and Duncan Denholm are listed
among the earliest golf professionals in Australia.
Hugh Hamilton, a greenkeeper on the West Links took over from Tom
Morris as custodian of the links at St Andrews in 1903. It was Hamilton who created many of the bunkers at St Andrews and lengthened the
course in reaction to the Haskell ball, he also extended the Jubilee course in 1905.
Robert Dickson born 22nd April 1865 at 8 Harbour Terrace, North Berwick son of Alexander Dickson, fisherman and his wife Mary Ann Kelly.
In 1900 Bob Dickson was appointed head greenkeeper at North Berwick with Robert Johnstone Snr. and Robert Kelly as his assistants. Dickson
left in April 1902 and moved to Dollar Golf Club and assisted Ben Sayers to layout their new 18-hole course. Halfway through the project
Dickson left for Portmarnock Golf Club in Dublin. In August 1906 Dickson was appointed head greenkeeper at Dunbar Golf Club. His reference
for the position of greenkeeper was supplied by Jack White from North Berwick, the pro at Sunningdale and Hugh Hamilton who Dickson had
worked with at North Berwick. Dickson's wife was appointed stewardess in the new clubhouse. In 1906, Dickson laid out the new 17th green
(present 2nd) which is all that remains from his tenure at Dunbar. Dickson moved to Headingley Golf Club in Leeds in 1909 and resided with
his wife Sophia Robertson and daughters in Park View, Adel, Leeds. The following year Jock L. Hutchison from North Berwick was appointed
head professional at Headingley which must have been more than just a coincidence.
THOMAS DICKSON Crestwood Golf and Country
Club, Kansas City, USA
Thomas Pringle Dickson born 25th February 1891 at 9 Lorne
Square, North Berwick, son of James Dickson, grocer and his wife Elizabeth Pringle. Tom's father had the grocery shop at 20 Forth Street and
built 'Seafield' at 10 Forth Street as the family residence in 1897. His intials can be seen carved into the masonry of the property which
remains in the ownership of the Dickson family.
Tom Dickson 6' 2" tall, apprenticed as a clubmaker and joined the Rhodes Golf Club in 1907. He was pro at Dunfermline, Stirling and Helensburgh
before he emigrated to America in December 1920. The following spring Tom took up the position of assistant to Jim Lindsay from Gullane (below)
at Oak Park Country Club, Chicago. In 1922, Tom was joined by his older brother Alex Dickson at Oak Park. Alex moved to St Joseph Country Club
in Missouri in 1924.
In 1924, Tom Dickson was appointed head pro at Lake Forest Golf Club, Edwardsville, Kansas City (1924-26). During the winter months Tom joined
another six pros at the Western Indoor Centre in Kansas City giving lessons on the six-hole layout. The pros often competed against each other
to see who could give the most lessons in a day.
In March 1926, Tom Dickson was pro at the nine-hole Oak Hill Country Club (now Twin Hills Country Club), Joplin, Missouri, and later that year he
was appointed Manager and Pro at the Schifferdecker Municipal Golf Course, in Joplin. In 1928, he was golf instructor at Muskogee Country
Club, Oklahoma where Bill Nichols (below) originally from North Berwick was a member and President of the Oklahoma State Golf Association.
Tom and his wife Matilda Turnbull, daughter of Tom Turnbull pro at Helensburgh Golf Club and their son Fraser returned to North Berwick and was
proprietor of the Milsey House Private Hotel, 3 Tantallon Terrace. In 1935 Tom Dickson was clubmaster at the Glen Golf Club and he died 12th
May 1957 in North Berwick.
JOHN DISHINGTON The Creek Club, Long
John Dishington born 14th October 1899, Aberlady Mains Farm, East
Lothian son of James Dishington, greenkeeper at Gullane, and his wife Mary Jane Turnbull. The family later moved to Muirfield Farm, Gullane.
John's brothers Robert (1902) and Andrew(1908) were members of Dirleton Castle Golf Club before Robert was appointed professional at Cathkin
Braes Golf Club in Strathclyde. Andrew was head greenkeeper at Winterfield and then Dunbar Golf Club until 1954.
John's brothers James (b.1897) and William (b.1901) emigrated to America in 1914 and John followed them to New York in May 1920. James and
William resided at 445 West 47 Street, Queens, New York City and were employed as chauffeurs and gardeners to a private family. John
Dishington was appointed to Bellport Golf Club, Long Island and in 1923 he moved to the newly formed Creek Club in Locust Valley as Estate
Superintendent. Locust Valley on Long Island was one of the wealthiest suburbs of New York City frequented by the Duke of Windsor and
Franklin Roosevelt had a house in Oyster Bay.
The Creek Club was established by Vincent Astor, Marshall Field, and J.P.Morgan, and the course was designed by Charles Blair Macdonald in
collaboration with Seth Raynor. The contractor would have been Peter Lees (below) who John Dishington was acquainted with as they grew up on
neighbouring farms, five miles from North Berwick. John resided close to the Creek Club at 70 Horse Hollow Road, and was joined in 1925 by
Jack B. Ross from Scotland (1925-38).
Jack B. Ross was a member of a golfing family from Crail in Fife and Braid Hills in Edinburgh. His father was a golf professional and club
maker in North Wales and England. In 1930 John Dishington was elected a Trustee of the newly formed Long Island Greenkeepers Association
which he served for many years. During this period William Small from North Berwick was head professional at Hay Harbour Golf Club, Fishers
Island. John Dishington died in October 1969 in Nassau County.
Andrew Dishington was head greenkeeper at the Dunbar Burgh course at Winterfield. When the course was opened in March 1934 Andrew played an
exhibition match with the Scottish internationalist Bob Denholm who replaced Jack White at short notice. The following year Henry Anderson
from Gullane took over as professional and greenkeeper at Winterfield and Andrew Dishington moved to Dunbar Golf Club.
THOMAS DOBSON (1903-1968) Scottish Amateur Champion
Thomas Peter Dobson born 26th December 1903, in Gullane, son of James Dobson,
golf course Starter and his wife Mary Hall. The family lived in West End Cottages in the area of the present Gullane clubhouse and pro shop.
Tom apprenticed as a greenkeeper at Muirfield for the Honorable Company of Edinburgh Golfers and was later appointed foreman greenkeeper.
Tom Dobson was a member of Dirleton Castle Golf Club and playing off scratch he won the Wotherspoon Medal in 1922, Patron's Medal 1923 and
1924 and the following year he won the Singapore Cup. Dobson and his playing partner Hugh Watt representing Dirleton Castle won the Scottish
Foursome championship. Dobson also won the prestigious Hope Challenge Medal in 1924 and 1925, which carried with it the championship of
In 1925, Tom was the first artisan winner of the Scottish Amateur Championship played that year over Muirfield. At the age of twenty-two,
Tom defeated John Cavan in the semi-finals and Willis Mackenzie, an Edinburgh stockbroker in the final 4 and 3, both were Walker Cup players.
This caused a furious debate among the blue blooded fraternity as to whether a greenkeeper was deemed a professional. The first to congratulate
Tom was Robert Maxwell.
Dobson had a fine touch, particularly his iron play, the half and three-quarter mid-iron shots up to the hole. The ball was kept low with the
smallest suspicion of a pull on it. When the red-haired youth, attired in trousers and old coat, holed his putt on the sixteenth green to give
him victory and the championship, the crowd of 3000 to 4000 went into a frenzy of excitement, and raised him shoulder high.
His parents died in 1924 and the members of Gullane Golf Club raised a headstone over the grave of their popular Starter for over thirty years
in Old St Andrew Parish Church cemetery. In 1926 Tom Dobson joined the professional ranks and was appointed to East Renfrewshire Golf Club,
near Newton Mearns, Glasgow, where the members have named the 1st hole ' Dobson's View ' in memory of their first head greenkeeper and
professional who remained with the club until 1956. Tom Dobson played in the Open Championship in 1935 and represented his country in the
Home Internationals in 1932, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37; v Ireland 1932, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38; v Wales 1937-38. Tom Dobson died 1st September 1968
at Raeside Avenue, Newton Mearns aged 65 years.
JEAN DONALD (Anderson) (1921-1984) Curtis
Cup Team 1948-50-52
Jean Macalister Donald and her twin Anne were born 2 May
1921 at St Helen's, North Berwick, daughter of Dr. Douglas A. Donald M.C. and his wife Marion Forbes. They lived above their father's medical
practice at 1 West End Place. Jean joined the North Berwick Ladies Club in 1936 and was given a handicap of 21. The following year she won the
Grahame Cup and in 1938 the Girls Prize with a 79. In 1947 Jean won the Spring Meeting and the Grahame Cup and by 1951 her handicap was plus 1.
She won the Scottish Ladies Championship in 1947 (Ellie); 1949 (Troon); 1952 (Gullane); runner up in 1953 and a semi finalist in 1951. The French
Ladies Open Championship in 1947 and the Sunningdale Open Foursomes four times, twice with partner Peter Alliss in 1958 and 1961.
Jean Donald controversially appeared wearing trousers in the
Scottish Amateur Championship in 1948.
During WW2 Jean Donald was based at Winthorpe RAF station and played her golf at the neigbouring Newark Golf Club. She represented Scotland in
the Home Internationals from 1947-53 and was a finalist in the 1948 British Ladies Amateur Championship. She was selected for the Great Britain
and Ireland team to play the USA in the Curtis Cup in 1948-50-52 and her experience played a crucial part in the GB&I victory at Muirfield in 1952.
Jean was elected captain of Gullane Ladies Golf Club in 1951 and captain of North Berwick Ladies Club in December 1953. She decided to turn
professional after new rules governing amateurs was introduced in January 1954. She was employed by Dunlop as an amateur and this conflicted
with the new rules. In January 1955 Slazenger Ltd sponsored her trip to New Zealand where she stayed for a month before flying to Australia
for three months. She played an exhibition match at Barwon Heads in Victoria where the professional was William 'Bud' Russell (listed below)
from Gullane. Jean married John Anderson and they lived at Kilbruach, Nisbet Road, Gullane. She played with Slazenger clubs throughout her
professional career and her signature sets sold well. Jean died in Gullane Golf Club on the morning of 2 May 1984, aged 63 years. Her medals
and trophies are displayed in Gullane Ladies Golf Club.
GEORGE DOUGLAS (1871-1903) Country Club Of Brookline,
George Douglas, born 18th March 1871 at 4, Viewforth, North Berwick, son of James
Douglas, general labourer and his wife Catherine Merrilees. In 1885 the family lived at 32, Harbour Terrace and in May 1891 George was
granted a professional license on the West Links, North Berwick. In July that year he was appointed greenkeeper and pro at Panmure Golf
Club playing over the Monifieth course from where he entered the Open at St Andrews. In 1892 George was appointed the first pro at the newly
opened Pollok Golf Club in Glasgow and in September he entered the Open Championship list at Muirfield and received 10/- in prize money.
George Douglas was the regular caddie for John H. Outhwaite in his big matches. In 1893 Douglas enlisted in the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders and
trained at Barry Buddon army camp in Angus. Outhwaite was also at Barry camp serving with the Black Watch and George caddied for him when
the twenty year old won the Regimental Cup at Carnoustie in 1893. George's cousin Peter Merrilees (listed below) from North Berwick was
golf pro at Manly Golf Club, Sydney in Australia.
Outhwaite, originally from Earlsferry won the tournament at the opening of the extended course at North Berwick in 1895, with George Douglas
on his bag. George played in the professional tournament the following day representing Hessle Tennis and Golf Club in East Yorkshire. A photo of
Douglas and Outhwaite can be seen in the Golf Book of East Lothian. George served almost two years with the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders before
he was discharged on payment of £18.
George Douglas was 5' 6 inches tall, blue eyes, brown hair and weighed 145 lbs. According to his army record, his distinguishing marks were the bust
of a woman tatooed on his right-forearm with the letters M.K. Several of his teeth were defective, he had a scare above his left ankle and another
on his right-forearm.
In 1894, prior to the well publicised challenge match between Andrew Kirkaldy and Ben Sayers. Kirkaldy had two days of practice at North
Berwick which included a round with George Douglas. After spending the winter of 1895 working in France, Douglas sailed to America from
Liverpool on S.S Gallia, and arrived in Boston on 18th April 1896. George Herbert Windeler, a member of Brookline Country Club and chairman
of the Green Committee appointed George Douglas golf professional in 1896. Windeler was originally from Ditton Hill, Surrey and his local
golf club was Thames Ditton & Esher Golf Club whose wealthy members would have been familiar with the courses in Scotland. Windeler
transferred his Insurance Brokers business to America and opened offices at 65 Bay State Road, Boston. It may have been during a visit to North
Berwick that Windeler met George Douglas, a licensed golf professional on the West Links. Following an exchange of letters inviting George
Douglas to the Country Club and an offer from G. Herbert Windeler to sponsor his travel arrangements and accommodation.
George Douglas was appointed head pro at the prestigious Country Club of Brookline in April 1896. The original nine-hole course was designed
by George Douglas and the Greens Committee and developed by George T. Fowle. This included the 7th hole, 197 yard, par three named 'Redan'
inspired by the 15th on George Douglas's home course at North Berwick.
During the previous November the publication American Golfer reported that the Country Club had not renewed Willie Campbell's contract.
George Douglas knew Willie Campbell from his days playing in the Musselburgh Professional tournament and working the links at North Berwick. In
July 1896, George Douglas representing the Country Club, played in the US Open at Shinnecock Hills, and finished fourth. He scored rounds
of 79 and 79 for a total of 158 and received $25 prize money. In December 1896, 25 year-old George Douglas returned to Scotland and worked
as a licensed professional on the West Links, North Berwick.
The course at the Country Club of Brookline was extended to eighteen holes in 1899. When the US Open was played at Brookline in 1913 the
7th hole was the only hole remaining from the original nine-hole course. The name 'Redan' continues to be part of the Brookline vocabulary
at the 12th hole while the membership have decided to airbrushed out George Douglas's contribution to the club history.
In September 1896 George Douglas won the professional tournament at Knollwood Country Club, Westchester County NY. The report in the New York Times
stated there were fourteen Scottish pros and one negro taking part, he was John Shippen from Shinnecock Hills Golf Club. The others included Willie
Dunn, and Tom Warrender from North Berwick who was pro at Knollwood. George Douglas representing the Country Club of Brookline covered the 36 holes
in 154 strokes and lifted the first prize of $150. The other scores were Willie Campbell, (Myopia Hunt) 155; Horace Rawlins, (Utica) 159;
Bertie Way (Meadowbrook) 160; Willie Dunn (Ardsley) 161; Willie Davis (Newport) 162; Willie Tucker (St Andrews at Yonkers) 164; Tom Gourley (Baltusrol)
167; Sam Tucker (St Andrews at Yonkers) 168; John Shippen (Shinnecock) 169; Alfred Ricketts (Albany) 170; Willie Norton (Lakewood green keeper)
174; Willie Kirk (Bar Harbour) 177; John Young (Staten Island) 171; Tom Warrender (Knollwood) 190.
Passenger List, S.S. Gallia, 18th April 1896 - George Douglas, Boston USA
According to the Milwaukee Journal in March 1897, Ben Sayers and Robert Thomson defeated Davie Grant and George Douglas in a foursome match
at North Berwick. The following month eighteen year-old Robert Thomson (below) sailed for America and was appointed professional at Merion
Cricket Club, Ardmore, Philadelphia. On 1st August 1897 he enlisted in the 11th Battalion Kings Own Scottish Borderers at the army recruitment
office in Edinburgh, and was stationed in Berwick-Upon-Tweed. Private George Douglas (No.6200) fought in South Africa before being posted
to the 2nd Battalion KOSB at the British Infantry Barracks in Dinapore, Bengal, India where he died in 1903. His military record states.
'George Douglas died at Dinapore of gunshot wounds self inflicted while temporarily insane - 25th August 1903'. He was taken to the Station
Hospital where he was pronounced dead by Billet Adjutant G.B.Stoney.
Rudyard Kipling wrote in the Civil and Military Gazette about the soldiers on Fort duty or confined to barracks had a hard time during the
Indian summer with the heat and disease. Kipling wrote about soldiers cracking up with the boredom and isolation of Indian barrack life.
George Douglas died at the age of 32 years and is listed among the first forty golf professionals in the United States and is recognised
today as a true pioneer, and one of the earliest names of golf and clubmaking in America. His mother Catherine died at the Harbour Terrace
in November 1904 and his father James Douglas followed her to the grave six months later.
Wentworth Golf Club, UK
George Duncan spent many
summers in North Berwick as personal golf instructor to Edward Esmond, a wealthy financier and race horse trainer. George Roger
Duncan was born 22 March 1883 at Millbank Cottages in the Parish of Cluny, Aberdeenshire, son of Francis Duncan, stone cutter
in a granite quarry and his wife Helen Roger. From the age of ten Duncan caddied on the Aberdeen links and regularly carried
the bag for Jim Donaldson who was then an amateur but was later professional at Glen View in Illinois. On leaving school George
apprenticed as a carpenter and for a few seasons he was a caddie at the Royal Aberdeen's Balgownie links. In 1901 he turned down
the opportunity to play football for Aberdeen FC and instead he joined the professional ranks at Stonehaven Golf Club.
At the age of nineteen he moved to England and then to Wales as professional at the seaside club at Rhos-on-Sea (1901-1903) near Llandudno.
He moved to Caernarvonshire (1903-1905), then to Timperley on the outskirts of Manchester (1905-1909).
He won his first professional tournament at the opening of the North Berwick Burgh course in 1909. He carded a four-round total of 290,
which included a brilliant 70 in the third round, setting a new course record. He received a cheque for fifteen-hundred dollars, which
was a world record for a golf tournament. In 1909 Duncan was appointed professional at Hanger Hill (1909-1924)
George's younger brother Alec Duncan also joined the professional ranks and emigrated to America in August 1910. He was the successful
applicant to follow the late Willie Anderson from North Berwick as professional at Philadelphia Cricket Club. George joined his
brother in August 1911 for a two-month’s tour of America playing courses at Deal, New Jersey, New York, Philadelphia and Glenview,
In September 1911 George Duncan played a 36-hole match against Jack McDemott the US Open champion at Philadelphia Cricket Club.
Despite the wet course and falling rain the standard of golf was very good with McDermott wining 4 and 3. The gallery, exceeded 500
enthusiastic spectators and the purse was subscribed by the members of the club, the winner taking two-thirds and the loser a third.
In 1912 George won the Belgium Open Championship. The following year he won the French Open Championship at Chantilly. That year he
also won the News of the World Tournament. He was selected for the Scottish International v England 1906, 07,09, 10, 13, 15, 22. 24,
35, 36, 37 and Ryder Cup in 1921, 25, 27, 29, 31. During WW1 Duncan served with the Royal Flying Corps. In 1924 he was appointed
head pro at Wentworth (1924-1928). In 1927 he won the Irish Open Championship at Portmarnock and from 1929 he worked freelance and
In July 1912 George Duncan returned to America accompanied by fellow golf professional Abe Mitchell. They were sponsored by American
businessman John Wanamaker and entered the US Open at Columbia Country Club, Maryland where Fred McLeod from North Berwick was the
head professional. They sailed back to America the following year and entered the US Open at Skokie Country Club, Glencoe, Illinois
when Duncan finished in 6th place. Duncan's final visit to America was in 1931 as part of the Ryder Cup team.
During the autumn he travelled to Paris and was engaged for a month by Edward Esmond to coach his daughters to play golf. Esmond resided
at 54 Avenue d'Lena, Paris and his summer house was at Marly Knowe in Windygates Road, North Berwick. Diana Esmond won the British
Girl's Open Championship at the age of 16 years. In 1928 she was a finalist in the French Ladies Amateur Championship, but was defeated
by Thion de la Chaume, wife of the famous tennis player Rene Lacoste. In 1930 Diana was runner-up in the French Ladies Open at Golf de
Saint Germains, Paris and represented France in several international matches Sybil Esmond was also a fine golfer. In 1914 Edward Esmond
had a handicap of two and played in the French Amateur Championship. George Duncan died at his home in Leeds on 15 January 1964 and is
buried in St Mary's Churchyard, Rostherne, Cheshire.
1926 British Girls Open Champion
Diana Esmond was the daughter of
Edward Esmond, a wealthy financier and race horse trainer. He owned the property at Marly Knowe in Windygates Road, North Berwick where his
family resided during August and September. Edward Esmond also owned property in Paris at 54 Avenue d'Lena near Alma-Marceau and for a month each autumn
he engaged George Duncan (above) the pro at Wentworth to travel to Paris and coach his daughters to play golf. In September 1926, Diana Esmond won
the British Girls Open Championship at the age of 16 years. Played at Stoke Poges she defeated Dorothy Pearson 6 & 5 in the final.
In 1928, Diana was a finalist in the French Ladies Amateur Championship, but was defeated by Thion de la Chaume, wife of the famous tennis player
Rene Lacoste. Diana regularly played in the Mixed Foursome Championship at Worplesdon Golf Club partnering Cyril Trolley. Her father won the event
in 1925 partnering Cecil Leitch. Edward Esmond had a handicap of two, and in 1914 he played in the French Amateur Championship along with Marino
and Andre Vagliano. Esmond was a member of Golf du Paris Country Club, Saint-Cloud, Paris.
Diana was also a jockey and she raced a number of horses from the Esmond stable to victory at venues such as Laversine and Deauville.
Diana was runner-up in the French Ladies Open in 1930 at Golf de Saint Germains, Paris and represented France in several international
matches. Her older sister Sybil Esmond was also a fine golfer. In 1928 their father presented the Esmond Trophy to the winner of the French
Under-21 Girls International Championship.
Diana Esmond on the right with her opponent Margaret Ramsden.
North Berwick was so popular among his friends that Edward Esmond had to commandeer the Bradbury Hotel to accommodate everyone. They often
entertained the Vagliano family who presented a trophy in 1947 to the winners of the Ladies Great Britain and Ireland team against Europe.
The Vagliano Trophy continues to be contested biennially.
Among the regular house guests at North Berwick was their cousin Aline de Gunzbourg a noted amateur golfer in France and England. The
Gunzbourg family resided in a house at Garches to the west of Paris on the edge of the St Cloud Country Club where Aline learned to play
golf. In 1932 she was runner-up in the English Girl's championship and in 1934 she won the French Ladies' Close Championship.
Diana and Sybil were members of North Berwick Ladies Golf Club and in 1926 their father presented the Bass Rock Golf Club with a trophy for
competition among the artisan golfers in East Lothian. The Esmond Trophy takes the form of a silver model of Edinburgh Castle and is
recognised as one of the finest trophies among golf clubs in Great Britain, and ranks along with the Silver Frigate of the Thorpeness Club
and the Antlers' trophy of Royal Mid-Surrey. The Esmond Trophy continues to be played for over the West Links in July each year.
In 1954, Mrs Esmond presented a trophy for a competition open to boys and girls played over the children's course at North Berwick. The
first winner of the Esmond Cup was Patrick Hume. Mrs Esmond's granddaughter Isabelle de Waldner won the trophy in 1957.
DAVIE FERGUSON (1884-1963)
Greenville, South Carolina, USA
David Learmonth Ferguson, a
stonemason by trade was born 7th January 1884 in North Berwick. Davie Ferguson was a member of the Caddie Institute (Hope Rooms) provided
by Miss Lucy Hope. The caddies organised the Angus Golf Club and Lucy Hope provided the prizes including the Angus Medal which Duncan
Denholm won in 1914. He lived with his family at 8, Clifford Road and at aged 30 years he emigrated to the USA. Ferguson sailed from
Glasgow on the steamer S.S. California arriving in New York on 18th May, 1914. He shared the voyage with James Gullane listed below. On
his arrival, Davie lived with his brother James Ferguson, a pro golfer at Spring Lake G.C in New Jersey until he found employment. In
1920, Davie Ferguson was appointed golf instructor at Sans Souci Country Club, Greenville in South Carolina. The following year he
returned to North Berwick to escort his wife Annie and their two children to their new home in the USA.
The Sans Souci C.C operated at its original location northwest of the City of Greenville off Old Buncombe Road from 1905 to 1923. On 4th
July 1923 it opened at its new and current location on Byrd Avenue. On 7th July 1927 the club changed its name to Greenville Country
During WW2, with the membership in declined, the club released Davie to work for T. G. Gillespie Trading Co. in their munitions factory in
South Cranbury, Middlesex, New Jersey. Following the conflict Davie returned to Greenville Country Club where he remained until his retirement.
His friend Jimmy Livingstone said 'Ferguson was so revered and loved in Greenville he was known as Mr. Golf'. David Ferguson died in 1963
and is buried in Greenville Cemetery, South Carolina.
JIMMY FERGUSON Spring Lake
Golf and Country Club, New Jersey, USA
James Cunningham Ferguson (brother of
David above) born 13th July 1881, Quality Street, North Berwick son of John Ferguson, a general labourer and his wife Jane White living at
41 Westgate, North Berwick. John Ferguson was involved in building the Roman Catholic Chapel in North Berwick in 1880. His son Jimmy
Ferguson was appointed pro and greenkeeper at Prestwick St Nicholas Golf Club (1894-95) before returning to North Berwick in 1907. He was
the first pro at Sandy Lodge GC (1910-11) and then to Hallamshire GC (1911-13) in Sheffield. That year Ferguson won the Sheffield Open
Jimmy Ferguson emigrated to America in 1913 and was appointed pro at Spring Lake Golf and Country Club in New Jersey. Shortly after his
arrival Ferguson played in an exhibition match at Trenton, against the best ball of George Bowly of Spring Lake and R.C. Maxwell of Trenton
Golf Club, and Ferguson won 3 & 2.
Within a few months he had set a new course record and hosted a 72-hole Open Professional tournament which Fred McLeod, a former school
friend attended. This was the first time they had been together for over ten years. McLeod won the tournament from a strong field which
included Tom McNamara, Jim Barnes and a young Walter Hagen. Alex Smith shot 71, to beat Ferguson's course record by one stroke.
In 1914, Ferguson entered the Metropolitan Golf Association tournament along with North Berwick boys George Sayers, and Jack Hobens, (winner
of the event in 1908). During the winter months (1915-22) Ferguson sailed to the West Indies and was golf pro at Nassau Country Club in the
Bahamas. He lived in Hotel Colonial in Nassau and returned to New Jersey each spring. In 1915 his wife Nellie (Helen) joined him permanently.
Ferguson played in the 1916 US Open and qualified for the matchplay section of the first US PGA Championship. Jim Ferguson lived with his wife
at Spring Lake Heights, Monmouth, NJ and remained at Spring Lake C.C for the remainder of his career. His parents John and Jean Ferguson lived
at 3, Forth Street, North Berwick.
MARJORY FERGUSON (1937-2003) Curtis Cup Team-1966
Marjory Anne Sergeant Ferguson (m/s Fowler) born 15th May 1937 in North Berwick,
daughter of John C. Fowler former Provost of the Royal Burgh (1968-71). Marjory came to prominence when she was the first winner of the inaugural
Scottish Junior Women's Open Stroke Play at Erskine in 1955, which she won again in 1957 at Kilmacolm.
She represented Scotland in the Home Internationals for over 26 years between 1959 and 1985. She made her debut for Great Britain & Ireland
in the Vagliano Trophy against the Continent of Europe in 1965, and was also selected to play in the European Ladies Amateur Team Championship
in 1965, 67 and 71. Marjory was defeated by Belle Robertson MBE in the final of the Scottish Women's Amateur Championship in 1966 at Machrihanish
and again in 1971 at Royal Dornoch. Marjory won many other titles including the Portuguese Women's Open Amateur Championship.
The highlight of an outstanding career came in 1966 when she was selected for the Great Britain & Ireland team for the Curtis Cup match
against the United States at Hot Springs, Virginia. Marjory was a member of Gullane Ladies Golf Club and honorary member of North Berwick
Ladies Golf Club. She was East Lothian and East of Scotland champion several times and helped East Lothian to win the Scottish County
Championship on many occasions. Marjory married Alistair Ferguson in 1968 and they lived at Clova, Westgate, North Berwick. In 1977 she
started the East of Scotland Girls' Golf Association and was chairman of the Scottish Ladies Golfing Association in 2000. Marjory Ferguson
died suddenly at North Berwick in 2003, aged 66 years.
EDWARD, HERBERT, FRED AND VAL FITZJOHN Mohawk Golf Club, NY.
Herbert (b.1870), Frederick (b.1871), Edward (b.1874) and Valentine Fitzjohn (b.1878)
were born in Edinburgh sons of George Fitzjohn, a former sergeant in the Edinburgh City Police and his wife Grace Willonghby. In 1880 the family
moved to Musselburgh where their father George Fitzjohn was appointed clubmaster and steward to the Honorable Company of Edinburgh Golfers. In
1891 the family moved with the Honorable Company to their new location at Muirfield in East Lothian. Edward and Herbert worked as clubmakers with
James H. Hutchison in his workshop situated beside the first tee on the West Links at North Berwick. Valentine attended Gullane school and at the
age of 12 years was a licensed caddie at North Berwick.
Ed and his older brother Fred Fitzjohn played in the 1892 Open Championship at Muirfield. Ed worked as a clerk and entered as an amateur, while
Fred carded a disastrous 105 in the first round. The following year Ed joined the professional ranks and was invited to take part in the
tournament to celebrate the opening of Luffness New Golf Club in 1894.
Their father died in 1895 and their mother Grace Fitzjohn continued as stewardess at Muirfield. In 1896 Herbert was appointed to Stratford-On-Avon
Golf Club. Fred emigrated to America in 1896 working in Pennsylvania. Valentine remained at home and was a member of Dirleton Castle Golf Club
when he won the Wotherspoon Medal in 1897. Later that year Val and Ed sailed for America and were appointed to Ardsley Golf Club, NY.
In September 1897 Val Fitzjohn defeated John Shippen, the first black African American golfer in a 36 hole match at Ardsley. In those days racism
was a very significant issue within all levels of American sporting events and golf was no exception. Despite Shippen's talent for the game, many
American golf clubs continued to refused him access, but he was welcomed by the Scottish golfers. Headlines appeared in the New York Times such
as 'Fourteen Scotch golfers and one negro took part in the professional tournament at Knollwood.'
On New Years Day in 1898 a tournament was organised at Lakewood, New Jersey when John Shippen joined the largest gathering of North Berwick golf
pro's outside Scotland. The pioneers included Jimmy Campbell (Torresdale, PA); Tom Harley from Aberlady (North Jersey C.C); Robert M. Thomson
(Merion Cricket Club); Harry Gullane (Philadelphia C.C, PA); Harry Reddie (Saint Andrews G.C. NY); James Litster (Gullane); Willie Collins,
John Forman from Musselburgh and North Berwick (Dutchess C.C) and Willie Anderson (Watch Hill, RI). The Fitzjohn brothers tied for the lead
and following a play-off Val Fitzjohn won the $75 first prize. By all accounts John Shippen enjoyed his first Scottish Hogmanay.
In the winter of 1898 the Fitzjohn brothers traveled south and were the first pros to be appointed to Bon Air Golf Club, Augusta, GA (later
Augusta Country Club). In 1899 the brothers moved to Springfield, New York and worked as Club and Ball Makers at Otsego Golf Club, part of
the prestigious Otsego Hotel in Coopertown NY. In 1899, Val Fitzjohn finished second equal in the US Open at Baltimore, won by Willie Smith.
In 1901 they signed up to the famous Mohawk Golf Club in Schenectady NY. Fred branched out on his own in Montgomery County NY, before moving
to Detroit, where he worked freelance as an instructor and clubmaker from his home at 146, Harrison Street, Wayne, Michigan. Ed was pro and
caddie master at Albany Country Club, Voorheesville, NY where he also designed golf clubs and held several patents in collaberation with Elmer
Stanton of Oneida NY. Ed Fitzjohn died in the town of Guilderland, Albany in 1948 and his hand made clubs remain popular among collectors today.
Val Fitzjohn laid out the original course at Hillendale Golf Club, Phoenix, Maryland NY and held the course record 71 at Stamford, Connecticut.
In 1930 he moved to Greenwich Connecticut where he died in 1934.
Valentine F. Fitzjohn
In September 1897 Val Fitzjohn defeated John Shippen, the first black American golfer in a 36 hole exhibition match at Ardsley. The report
in the New York Times described him as the 'colored lad'. In December 1897 a tournament was organised at Lakewood Golf Club with prizes worth
$150, and featured the largest gathering of North Berwick caddies on American soil, including Harry Gullane, Robert M. Thomson, Willie
Anderson, Jamie Campbell, Willie Collins, James Litster, John Forman and Tom Harley from Aberlady. The tournament was played on New Years
Day 1898 when the 'negro' John Shippen also took part and Val Fitzjohn defeated his brother Ed at the first extra hole to lift the first
prize of $75.
In the winter of 1898 the Fitzjohn brothers traveled south and were the first pros to be appointed to Bon Air Golf Club, Augusta, GA (later
Augusta Country Club). In 1899 the brothers moved to Springfield, New York and worked as Club and Ball Makers at Otsego Country Club, part of
the prestigious Otsego Hotel in Coopertown NY.
Fred Fitzjohn emigrated 1896 and was appointed golf instructor at Otsego Country Club, Springfield, New York. In 1901 he signed up to the
famous Mohawk Golf Club in Schenectady NY. Fred branched out on his own in Montgomery County NY, before moving to Detroit, where he worked
freelance as an instructor and clubmaker from his home at 146, Harrison Street. Fred played in the US Open in 1899 at Baltimore. Fred died
8th September 1920.
Edward McCallum Fitzjohn
Edward 'Ned' Fitzjohn emigrated in 1896 and travelled to Chicago. In 1901 he joined his brother Valentine at the Mohawk Country Club and in
1905 he moved to Hillendale Golf Club, Maryland. In 1915 he was appointed golf instructor at Albany Country Club and resided with his
wife Olive in the town of Guilderland, NYC. Ed Fitzjohn played in the US Open in 1899 and 1901. Edward and his bothers returned to Scotland
in December 1899 to organise their mother’s funeral. Edward remained in Scotland until 1901 working as a free lance Golf Professional. He
resided with Margaret Walker the former Stationer at 3 Westgate, North Berwick. Ed was employed as Caddie Master at Albany before retiring
PATRICK FLYNN (1907-1973) Elgin Golf Club, Morayshire
Patrick Flynn born 13th May 1907, 1 Harmony Place, North Berwick, son of Patrick Flynn,
a fishmonger's carter and his wife Elizabeth Quinnen. Patrick apprenticed as a plumber and was a scratch medalist of the Bass Rock and Rhodes Golf
Clubs at North Berwick. In 1927 he won the prestigious Hope Challenge Medal over the Kilspindie course and in 1929 he won the Haldane Cup over
the Glen Course and the Challenge Medal over the West Links. In 1931 and 1932 he won the Haldane Cup over the Gullane links. In 1932 he was a member
of the four-man team which won the Wemyss County Cup representing the Rhodes Golf Club. That year he entered the Scottish Amateur Championship at
In 1934 he was appointed assistant pro to Ben Sayers Jnr. at North Berwick and that year he entered the Scottish Professional Championship at Nairn
scoring rounds of 79,79,78,74, for an aggregate of 310.
Pat married Margaret Ramage from Bannockburn and in April 1935 he was appointed pro at Elgin Golf Club and the couple lived at 62 South College
Street, Elgin. In 1936 he won the Scottish Northern Open Tournament at Deeside Golf Club. At that meeting the spectators noted that Australian
Jim Ferrier had a huge bag of 20 irons and 4 woods. Following WW2, Pat Flynn returned to his trade as a plumber and died on 9th January 1973 aged
65 years at Whins of Milton, Stirling.
JOHN FORREST Lindrick
Golf Club, South Yorkshire.
John Forrest, born 21st April 1854 in North
Berwick, son of John Forrest, coach hirer and his wife Christina Thomson. Johnny, apprenticed as a stonemason and lived with his parents,
two brothers and a sister at 1 Forrest Court, situated on the corner of Church Road and Beach Road. The stable courtyard can be seen today
behind the double gates.
His brother William Forrest was a founder member of Bass Rock Golf Club in 1873 and winner of the summer and autumn medals that year.
Johnny also joined in 1873 and won the summer medal in 1876. He dominated golf in North Berwick from 1885, playing off a handicap
of plus-four he won the Bass Rock summer medal six consecutive years. In 1890 he held the record for the lowest scratch score of 72 in
a Bass Rock G.C competition, and also the lowest at Tantallon G.C with a 74. In 1891 he entered the Amateur Championship at St Andrews
and the following year he won the Hope Challenge Medal over Kilspindie Links.
In November 1893 Johnny Forrest was appointed golf professional at the Sheffield and District G.C, later to be named Lindrick G.C in
South Yorkshire. The Lindrick club history suggests that in December 1892 the Club professional holed-in-one at the 130 yard 7th "using
Sir W. Dalrymple's hammer headed club and a Slazenger ball".
This was in fact a club designed by Sir Walter Hamilton-Dalrymple and made by James H. Hutchison in his workshop at North Berwick.
The patent was approved in May 1893 but the hammer-head design was not popular enough to go into full production. Johnny Forrest ,
as the leading player in the town would have been involved with Hutchison in testing the club and suggesting modifications. Taking
the clubs to Sheffield and District G.C during an early visit would have impressed the members and the hole-in-one probably sealed Forrest's
appointment." In 1894-95 Forrest was also connected with the Shireoaks Golf Club which no longer exists.
Johnny Forrest played in the Open Championship at St Andrews in 1895 and at Hoylake in 1897. He was pro at Sheffield and District G.C for
20 years and was appointed caddie-master in 1913, a position he retained until 1920 when he retired at the age of 66 years. He lived with
his wife Helen Lymburn and daughter Ethel at 53 Gladstone Street, Worksop and each year he sent a club for a prize at the Bass Rock G.C
Summer Meeting, a tradition the clubmakers who left North Berwick continued for many years. In 1908, Percy Roberts was assistant to John
Forrest at Lindrick before he moved to Southport and Ainsdale Golf Club where he was head pro for over 24 years. John Forrest died at
Worksop in 1925 and his family are buried in the North Berwick Churchyard in Kirkports where an obelisk lists their names.
JACK FORRESTER (1894-1964)
Baltusrol, New Jersey, USA
John McIntyre Forrester, born 19th
February 1894 in 85, Port Street, Glasgow, son of James Forrester, ship rigger and his wife Jane McIntyre. In 1900, his father was
leading boatman in the Coastguard Service living in Cairnryan House, Inch, Wigtown and a year later he was transferred to Stornaway where
the children attended the Nicholson Institute. In May 1905 he moved to North Berwick and the family lived in the Coastguard Cottages on
Melbourne Road. In 1905, John and his younger brother William were licensed caddies on the West Links. John attended North Berwick Public
School before joining the GPO as a postman. He was a member of the Rhodes Golf Club in North Berwick and at the age of seventeen he won
the Haldane Cup and Maxwell Shield in 1911. He also set a new amateur record of 71 for the Glen Course in 1913.
John Forrester moved with his parents to 18 Balfour Street and two weeks after War was declared he enlisted in the 3rd Battalion Argyll and
Sutherland Highlanders at a recruitment meeting in North Berwick on 29th August 1914. No.2978 Sergeant John Forrester was transferred to the
2/6 Gurkas Riffles and fought in France and Flanders for almost a year before being posted to Salonica in Macedonia for three years. He
contracted malaria in 1916 and spent time in hospital.
(Left to Right) Mike Brady, Tommy Armour, Willie Macfarlane, Leo Degel, Joe
Kirkwood, Joe Turnesa, Johnny Farrell,
Jack Forrester, MacDonald Smith, Gene Sarazen.
Forrester sailed to America from Glasgow on the S.S. Columbia and arrived in New York on
8th March 1920. His contact was Carl H. Anderson manager of the golf equipment store Thomas E. Wilson & Co, in the Emporia building at 25
West, 45th Street, New York, (later known as the 'Wilson Company'). Anderson was born in 1889 at Brockton, Mass. and was club champion of
the Brockton Country Club at the age of fifteen. He was schoolboy champion of greater Boston in 1908 and turned pro in 1909. It is not known
if Forrester was employed at Wilson's store but during the winter he joined Carl H. Anderson in Florida and they played in the Palm Beach Golf
Club professional tournament. Forrester returned north in the spring and was appointed pro at Meadow Brook Golf Club, in New Jersey in 1921.
Later he moved to Hollywood NJ (1923-25); then to Baltusrol NJ (1926-28); Oradell NJ (1929); and Hackensack NJ (1930-34). He qualified for
the US Open from 1921-1935 with his best finish being fourth place in 1923.
He played in the US PGA Championship in 1921 (defeated by Walter Hagen in the first round), also 1923 and 1924. Sandy-haired Jack Forrester
was the most successful pro in New Jersey from 1926 until 1936. He won the Mid-South Open at Pinehurst in 1928 and the New Jersey State
Pro/AM on several occasions.
In 1923, David Campbell was appointed assistant to Jack Forrester at Hollywood Golf Club (NJ). Davie was the brother of Alex 'Nipper' Campbell
(Brookline) a member of the famous golfing family from Troon in Ayrshire. Davie was assistant pro at Gleneagles before joining Jack Forrester
at Deal. That year Davie won the New Jersey Open and Jack Forrester finished third. Davie was 26 years old when he met his brother Alex for
the first time in America.
During the winter months from 1923-1931 Jack Forrester joined an increasing band of professionals who played tournaments in California,
Texas, Arkansas and Florida, before returning north in the spring. This new breed of professionals where known in the press as the
troubadours - who wandered first class, some in Lincolns, Cadillacs and Packards, from post to post, making their temporary abodes during
the winter wherever a tournament was in progress.
The trail led to California where two big events - the California and Long Beach open championships were held, through Texas and Arkansas
where the Dallas, Texarkana and South Central open championships were staged, then to Florida for the Miami, Central Florida, West Coast,
Florida, South Florida open championships, before breaking the journey north with their final tournament at Pinehurst for the North and
South open. The prize money available over the winter amounted to $28,000.
Forrester was described in the sports pages of the New York Times as a dyed-in-the-woods Scot who retained his 'burr' despite a long
residence in the USA. Although he was not born in North Berwick, Jack listed the town as the place he came from at every opportunity. He
lived with his wife Anne and their two sons at 341 Grove Street, Bergen, NJ. Jack Forrester was elected President of the New Jersey PGA
(1933-35). He retired to Main Street, Chatham, on the Cape Cod peninsula in Massachusetts, an area which reminded him of North Berwick in
the old country. He died 4th Auugust 1964 and is buried in Chatham cemetery. The Forrester family moved from North Berwick to Glasgow where
their father James Forrester died in 1957 aged 95 years.
Willie Thomson from North Berwick was a founder
JAMES FRASER Inverness Golf Club
John James Fraser born 15 June 1895, Royal Maternity Hospital, Edinburgh, son of John Fraser,
groom and his wife Elizabeth Risk. The family resided at 10 St Stephen Street, Edinburgh before moving to North Berwick in 1903. On leaving
North Berwick Public School 'James' Fraser was a licensed caddie on the West Links while living with his parents, four sisters and two
brothers at 31 Melbourne Place, North Berwick. Jimmy was a member of the Caddie Institute (Hope Rooms) provided by Miss Lucy Hope. The
caddies organised the Angus Golf Club and Lucy Hope donated the prizes including the Angus Medal which was won by Duncan Denholm in 1914.
Jimmy Fraser was appointed golf professional at Swindon (North Wilts) Golf Club 1920 -1923 before moving to Inverness (1923-1938) when he
redesigned the golf course. Jimmy remained single and following WW2 he worked for the local authority. He resided at 19 Kessock Avenue,
Inverness where he died on 19th February 1941 aged 46 years.
MAYNARD GOLDSMITH Royal Cape
Club, South Africa
Maynard Mills Goldsmith, born 23rd May 1908 in Cardross
Golf Club, Dumbarton, son of Harry Goldsmith, club master and his wife Francis Parker. His parents moved to North Berwick to manage the
Temperance Cafe, (now 88, High Street) and then as proprietors of Seabank Hotel in Marine Parade. On leaving North Berwick School, Maynard
apprenticed as a club maker with Ben Sayers & Son and was Scottish Amateur Champion in 1926.
For three years he was assistant to Norman Grant from North Berwick at Cannes Golf Club in France before being appointed head pro at Lucerne
Golf Club in Switzerland in 1929. He remained there for eight years and was Swiss Professional Champion in 1933, runner-up twice and also
winner of the Swiss Close championship. His pupils were both winner and runner-up in the Swiss Amateur in 1936-37.
Maynard married his first wife Ethel Millar in North Berwick in 1935 and they had a son William. In August 1937, Maynard was appointed pro at
the Royal Cape Club in South Africa after being recommended for the position by Henry Cotton and Percy Alliss. Twenty candidates applied for
the job and 'Jock' Goldsmith as he was known, worked on the former military base at Wynberg for the remainder of his career.
Goldsmith played against South African Bobby Locke on several occasions, and in 1939 they contested the final of the matchplay Sunlight
Purse, a prestigious professional tournament which Locke won. Goldsmith was playing well that year and had his best opportunity to win the
SA Open Championship but had to withdraw after badly cutting his hand on a glass door. WW2 then intervened and Jock Goldsmith served in the
Desert and Italian campaigns. During the conflict he met up with Bobby Locke in Cairo, he was flying Liberator bombers between Egypt and
Italy. After the war Locke won the British Open Championship four times.
The tradition at Ben Sayers & Son, was for the apprentices on completion of their five years training, to be offered a position as assistant
to former Sayers club makers and contacts around the world. Following a request by Maynard Goldsmith for an assistant in South Africa, Allan
McLachlan was offered the position and sailed for Cape Town.
Allan McLachlan born 9th December 1914, in Abbey Road, North Berwick, son of Alexander McLachlan, gardener at the Marine Hotel, and his wife
Mary Ann Munro. His father later worked on the Abbey Farm and served in the Royal Air Force during WW1. Allan McLachlan apprenticed as a
club maker with Ben Sayers & Son in their new workshop in Forth Street. In an interview in the South Africa Golf magazine Allan said, "That
was in the days of hickory shafts and we worked from 8am - 6pm and still found time for a round of golf in the evening. I got my handicap
down to six, then four. When I was 21 years old I was put in the professional's shop beside the first tee on the West Links, demonstrating
Sayers clubs and selling to the customers".
Allan emigrated to South Africa in 1938 to be assistant to Jock Goldsmith at Royal Cape. He also fought in Italy during WW2 and his brother
another Sayers apprentice Arthur McLachlan was killed in Burma in March 1945 while serving with the Kings Own Scottish Borderers. In 1947
Allan Mclachlan was appointed head pro at Hermanus Golf Club, 120 kilometers from Cape Town where he remained until he retired in the 1980s.
In February 1951, Goldsmith was joined by Arnaud Edgar, grandson of Arnaud Massy as his assistant. Edgar was previously assistant to James
Brash at Prestonfield Golf Club, Edinburgh. Maynard Goldsmith died in 1973 and his grandson continued the interest in golf, wining a scholarship
in America in 2011.
member of the Professional Golfers Association in 1901.
CYRIL GOODCHILD (1916-1998) Bramall Park
Golf Club, Stockport, UK
Cyril Goodchild born 8th January 1916 at 41 Old Abbey
Road, North Berwick, son of James Goodchild, a postman and his wife Lynda Parker. Cyril served a five year apprenticeship as a club maker
with Ben Sayers & Son and was a member of Rhodes Golf Club and Bass Rock Golf Club winning the Spring Medal (1934); Autumn Medal (1937) and Dickson Cup (1936).
In 1938 at the age of 22 years, Cyril was appointed assistant to Henry Cotton at Ashridge Golf Club in Hertfordshire. During WW2 he served
in the RAF and landed in Normandy, but after a few months in France he was invalided out and returned to Henry Cotton, then at Coombe Hill
and subsequently followed him to Royal Mid-Surrey.
In 1947, Cyril Goodchild branched out on his own and was appointed head pro at Bramall Park Golf Club, Stockport, Manchester where he
remained for over 39 years, until his retirement in 1986. Henry Cotton was invited to Cyril's retirement festivities but due to his failing
health, the journey from Portugal was too much for him. Cotton contacted the PGA and insisted that Cyril be given a Honorary Associate
Membership of the PGA and this was presented to Cyril at his retirement party. Cyril died in 1998 in Manchester and the Ladies section
at Bramall continue to play for the Cyril Goodchild Trophy.
ALEX, EDWARD, ALLAN, & ROY GOW
West Links, North Berwick
Alexander Grant Gow was head greenkeeper on the
West Links, North Berwick for 23 years. He was born 1861 in Longforgan, Perthshire, and worked as a jobbing gardener before moving to
St Andrews Cottage (Invereil Lodge) on Dirleton Road, North Berwick in 1891. In 1900 he was a greenkeeper at Muirfield and resided with
his wife Isabella and their six children at 5 Maule Terrace, Gullane where their son Edward was born in 1891. Alex was a member of the
artisan Dirleton Castle Golf Club playing their golf over Gullane Hill. Alex won the Stamford Hall Medal in 1896 and was elected Club
secretary from 1898-1900.
In 1906 Alex was appointed the first full time greenkeeper at Royal Portrush Golf Club, Ireland where he reconstructed the Old Dunlace
Links. The following year Alex was asked to layout the Strand course at the neighbouring Portstewart which was opened for play in 1908.
In 1901 Stuart Anderson from North Berwick was appointed the first secretary of Royal Portrush Golf Club at a salary of £80 per annum.
He resided with his family in Glenmanus Manse, Portrush. The opening of a regular passenger boat service from Glasgow to Portrush made
the northern counties of Ireland more accessible. In 1895, Ben Sayers and his nephew Jack White played in the first Irish Professional
Golf Tournament at Royal Portrush. Sayers played the course again in 1898 and was a member of the Scottish team who played against an
Irish Professional team at Portrush in 1906. The club retained the services of Ben Sayers and Sandy Herd to make recommendations on
the layout of five new holes in the 1909.
The work carried out by Alex Gow and his son Roy at Royal Portrush received high praise from the members. Alex and his family resided
in Salisbury Terrace, Portrush and in 1911 they returned to East Lothian when Alex was appointed head greenkeeper on the West Links at
North Berwick, a position Alex retained until he retired in 1934. His son Roy Gow was also a member of the greenkeeping staff at North
Berwick and the family resided in the Greenkeepers Cottage, 15, St Andrews Street. To this day Alex Gow is associated with the bunker
to the right of the 14th fairway which bares his name 'Gow's Bunker'.
Allan G. Gow
Alex's second son Allan Grant Gow was born in 1885 at Longforgan, Perthshire. On leaving North Berwick Public School Allan apprenticed
as club maker with Ben Sayers & Son in their timber workshop adjacent to the eighteenth tee on the West Links, North Berwick. Allan
joined Dirleton Castle Golf Club playing over Gullane Hill and won the Patron's Medal in 1902.
He was appointed professional at Gog Magog Club in 1901 situated three miles south-east of Cambridge. He returned to North Berwick in
1906 and entered the Open Championship at Muirfield. In 1909 he played in the Cruden Bay Tournament and in 1912 he featured in the
prize list for the News of The World Tournament at Sunningdale. That year he played for Scotland against England in the Home
Internationals and partnered Ben Sayers Snr. in the foursomes matches. In 1913 he moved to Nairn and the following year entered a
professional tournament at Port Seton & Cockenzie in East Lothian. In 1916 he was at Banstead Downs Golf Club where he remained for
six years and resided at 48 Belmont Road, Epsom, Surrey.
In March 1922, Allan Gow travelled to America to visit his brother Teddy at Edgewater Golf Club, Chicago. An article published in the
Edgewater Daily News regarding Herbert C Lagerblade, the first golfer to use steel shafted clubs. In 1923 he demonstrated the new
clubs in front of members of the Western Golf Association at Edgewater Golf Club. One of the testers was the new pro at Edgewater,
Allan Gow who arrived from Scotland that spring. Gow stood on the first tee and promptly sliced three balls over the fence, definitely
convincing the Western committee that the steel shaft was not a mechanical aid. In December that year Allan Gow returned to
England and was appointed the first professional at Tyrell's Wood Golf Club (1923-30) in Leatherhead where he laid out the course to
James Braid's design.
In 1929 Allan was persuaded to join the Royal Zoute Golf Club in Belgium where he won the Closed Professional Championship of Belgium.
Allan Gow returned to Cambridge, and was appointed to the Griton Golf Club. In 1936 Gow bought the land at Girton and built a nine-hole
course. For many years he resided at 8 Woodlands Park where he gave golf lessons in his back garden. In 1923, Allan laid out a nine-hole
course at March Golf Club, Frogs Abbey, Cambridgeshire. In 1938 he accepted an invitation to be professional at Panmure Golf Club, Barry
By 1965 he was approaching retirement and generously allowed the members of Griton to purchase the freehold of the course. Allan Gow
died 25th February 1974 at Girton and in 2000 Dirleton Castle Golf Club presented the Allan Gow Trophy for the first time to the winner
of the Spring Medal in memory of their former member.
Edward H. Gow
Alex Gow's third son Edward Henderson 'Teddy' Gow born 23rd December 1891 in St Andrews Cottage (Invereil Lodge), Dirleton, followed his
brother as a clubmaker with Ben Sayers & Son and was appointed greenkeeper and professional at Hatfield Golf Club (1912-14) and boarded
at the Station House, St Albans. He moved to Weybridge Golf Club, New Haw, Surrey (1914-15). Teddy Gow emigrated to America in 1915,
sailing from Liverpool on the S.S. Lusitainia, he arrived in New York on 20th February. He was appointed professional at Sleepy Hollow Country
Club, NY, before moving to Norwich Golf Club, Connecticut. Teddy played in the Metropolitan Open in 1915 at Fox Hills Golf Club. In
1917 he was employed by Tarratine Club of Dark Harbor, Islesboro, Maine, and in 1919 he became an American Citizen while residing at
122 Mt Auborn Street, Cambridge, Massachusetts. In 1921, Ted Gow played in the 36-hole tournament of the Professional Golfers
Association of New England at the Myopia Hunt Club. Sixty-two players took part and Ted Gow finished in the top fifteen. He joined
Edgewater Golf Club, Chicago in 1922 and later that year he moved to The Weston Golf Club, Massachusetts (1922-28).
Roy A. Gow
Alex's fourth son Roy Alexander Gow born 1895 at 5 Maule Terrace, Gullane, joined his father as greenkeeper on the West Links, North
Berwick. On 9th July 1915, Roy Gow enlisted in WW1 and served with the 11th Bn. Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders. He was posted to
France and fought on the western front in the Battle of Loos. He was killed in action on 27th September 1915 aged 21 years. His military
record states. In accordance with the decision of this Army Council this soldier is to be regarded for official purposes as having died
at the scene. Private Roy Gow was awarded the British War Medal, 1914-15 Star Medal, and the Victory Medal. His body was never found but
his name is listed on the Loos Memorial and the North Berwick War Memorial in Quality Street.
Grant stymied on the 17th green. The figure on the left could be
Davie's son Arthur who often caddied for his father.
DAVIE GRANT SNR. (1860-1903) Dinard Club,
David Grant born 16th July 1860 in Wilson Court, Elbe Street,
Leith, the illegitimate son of Jane Grant daughter of Daniel Grant, blacksmith. David was raised by his auntie Cecilia Grant in
Lochend Road, Leith. His mother Jane married Lawrence Hay and they lived in Earlston.
On leaving school Davie Grant was employed cleaning train engines at St Margaret's Works, Edinburgh and at the age of 18 years he
moved to North Berwick and was living at 11, Forth Street. He married Isabella Thomson from North Berwick, part of the Thomson golfing
dynasty. Her sister Catherine married Ben Sayers and their brother was Wilfred Thomson. The eldest sister Emily Thomson married James
White and their son Jack White won the 1904 Open Championship.
In 1880, Davie Grant was eking a living labouring in the winter at North Berwick and playing in professional golf tournaments
around the country. In 1885 he was a professional at Musselburgh and by 1888 was back at North Berwick teaching on the West Links.
In June that year he enrolled is youngest son David Grant Jnr at North Berwick Public School. Grant's best appearance in the Open was
a top-ten finish in 1886 and 1890. During this period he started a golf ball-making business and by 1890 was employing his brother-in-law
Willie Thomson, making golf balls in his house in Forth Street.
In 1893 he was appointed to Stanmore Golf Club in Middlesex and could have made his fortune as a club maker and greenkeeper but resigned
the post for health reasons. It was more than likely due to his wife, who like the other Thomson sisters refused to leave North
Berwick. Grant did spend a winter at Biarritz in France to work in a better climate for his health. In 1892, he was engaged by Lord
Tweedale, chairman of the North British Railway Company and former captain of North Berwick Golf Club (1890) to layout the course at
Silloth in Cumbria. Grant was assisted by Mungo Park who became the first professional at Silloth.
Julie Channing daughter of Francis Channing, an advocate and later Liberal Member of Parliament for East Northamptonshire, joined her
parents in North Berwick for the summer season in 1894. She took golf lessons from David Grant and in her diary she described him as a
small man, fair, with a moustache that looks almost white at a distance. He generally pulls his cap over his eyes, holds himself very
straight and has a curious chirpy way of walking giving a little hop with each foot. He is every thin and delicate and had a 'chuckle
in his throat' which was later diagnosed as tuberculosis laryngitis.
During his playing career Davie formed a formidable partnership with his brother-in-law Ben Sayers in fourball matches. On one occasion
they defeated Andrew and Hugh Kirkaldy in a well publicised money match. Grant played in his first Open Championship in 1878 at Prestwick.
He entered the Championship fifteen times, had six top-ten finishes and his highest place was sixth equal at St Andrews in 1888. That year
he was appointed the first professional at the Dinard Club near Ille-et-Vilaine in France. He also played for Scotland in the professional
international matches and although he preferred to describe himself as a ball maker, it was in teaching the game that his talent was recognised.
The golfers could arrange for a lesson with Davie Grant in Ben Sayers workshop situated on the wall of
Inchgarry House adjacent to the 18th tee. Guests at the Marine Hotel could also arrange for a lesson with Davie Grant at the hotel
reception. Grant was a pioneer of the one hour lesson rather than the traditional method of teaching while playing a round of golf
with the pupil. The professionals could teach on the big course up to the wall but only before 10am and Grant was able to charge 3/6d
per hour while the others charged 2/-. Davie took a keen interest in ladies' golf and taught Mrs Asquith wife of Prime Minister Herbert
Asquith at North Berwick in 1896. He also coached the Orr sisters and it was said their swing resembled Grant's style. They lived with
their parents at 18 Dirleton Avenue and their father engaged Grant as his daughter's personal golf instructor. Their father was very
immobile without the aid of his horse and believed in physical training for his daughters and selected golf as their chosen sport. In
1897 the Ladies' Championship in it's fifth year came to Scotland for the first time and was played at Gullane. Two of the Misses Orr
sisters contested the final with a third sister reaching the quarter finals. Grant caddied for Edith C. Orr throughout the competition
which attracted criticism from the LGU, and she was the ultimate winner 4 & 3. In 1901 Davie published a booklet called Mems, on Golf
for Beginners which embodied his practical views on teaching the game.
In 1898 Davie Grant was living in a two-roomed apartment at 33, Melbourne Place with his wife and ten children. David Jnr (b.1882),
Kate (b.1884), Arthur (b.1886), Isabella (b.1889), George (1891), Jeanie (b.1894), Norman (b.1896), Alexander (b.1897) Robert
(b.1899), Bernard (b.1900). David Grant Snr. died of tuberculosis on 24 June 1903 in Kendall Cottage, aged 43 years. His funeral was
well attended and included Robert Maxwell the amateur champion. In 1916 the Grant family were living at 68 High Street, North Berwick.
David Grant Jnr.
David 'Sonny' Grant Jnr. was a colourful character by all accounts. He was charged with assult in March 1889 and sentenced to a
fine or 2 days in jail, he paid the fine. In December 1890 he was charged with Breach of the Peace, but on that occasion the
verdict was 'Not Proven'. Sonny Grant was awarded his first-class caddie badge No.100 in February 1896 and at the age of 18 years
he was granted a professional licensed on the West Links.
Sonny Grant entered the Open Championship for the first time in 1901 at Muirfield. The following year he was based at the Maloja
G.C in Switzerland and in 1904 he spent several months at the Bad-Nauheim course in Germany. At the opening of that course he
played an exhibition match with Henry Longhurst from Ascot. In 1906 he joined his brother Arthur Grant at Biarritz (1907-1908).
Sonny Grant played in the Open Championship eight times, his last appearance was in 1912.
The PGA organised two national tournaments, the News Of The World Tournament started in 1903 and the Sphere and Tatler Cups,
first played in 1911. The players qualified for those events at regional competitions. Success in the PGA tournaments ensured the
top professionals were invited to play in exhibition matches which were a lucrative form of competition.
The Sphere and Tatler Cups was a foursomes competition and although the players qualified in stroke play tournaments as individuals
the final was between 32 teams playing two-ball foursomes matchplay. The partners were decided by a random draw and the winners
received £50 each. The remainder of the prize money was divided among the 64 players who reached the final tournament.
In 1911 the Sphere and Tatler Cups was played at Walton Heath. That year Davie Grant qualified and was drawn with George Duncan as
his partner. They were beaten in the semifinal at the 20th hole by J.H. Talyor and W. Hambleton who were defeated in the final by
Sandy Herd and James Bradbeer. In 1912, Davie Grant qualified at Hoylake and was drawn with Sandy Herd as his partner. George Duncan
and James Sherlock were considered pre-tournament favourites along with Sandy Herd and Davie Grant. In the first round Ben Sayers and
his partner put out Harry Vardon as a result of Sayers' uncanny putting. Duncan and Sherlock won the tournament.
Sonny Grant married Agnes Purves in 1911 and they lived at 3 Beach Road, North Berwick. During WW1, Sonny Grant and his family
experienced hardship and he applied for an exemption from overseas service in 1916, but was turned down by Lothians and Peebles
Conscription Appeal Board. Sonny served in the Royal Army Medical Corps, 34th Combined Field Ambulance and he died of pneumonia on
6th July 1919 in Marseilles while returning from WW1. He was buried in the Mazargues War Cemetery, Marseilles and his death was
carried in the popular American Golfer magazine in September 1919.
Arthur, like his brothers was a caddie on the West Links before being granted a professional license on the West Links. He
entered the Open Championship for the first time in 1906 when he joined his brother David in the field at Muirfield.
Arthur was appointed pro at Biarritz in 1907 and in April that year he partnered Ben Sayers in a match against Arnaud Massy and
Jean Gassiat. Played over 36 holes at Biarritz, the Frenchmen won by a single hole and within two months Massy was British Open
Champion. Arthur played in the Open Championship in 1908,1909,1910 and 1914.
In 1909 Arthur was the playing professional to the Duchess of Marlborough, that year he entered the Open Championship from Wilton
Park Golf Club founded by Colonel William Du Pre who laid out the nine-hole course on his estate at Wilton Park east of the town
of Beaconsfield. In 1910 Arthur accepted an appointment with Valescure Club, St Raphael near Cannes and he then moved to Le
Touquet GC situated 38 miles south of Calais. This became a very fashionable area where Noel Coward and others were entertained
in the luxury hotels. P.G. Wodehouse was also a member of Le Touquet and lived next door to Arthur Grant and their families became
very good friends.
During WW1 the recruitment policy was to keep men from the same area or occupation together in so called 'Pals' regiments. On 11
November 1914 Arthur Grant travelled to London to join over forty golf professionals in Trafalgar Square where they enlisted in
Lord Kitchener's Army. They were drafted into the King's Royal Rifles and left immediately for Winchester Barracks. Among the
professionals were George Duncan (Hangerhill), Charles Mayo (Burhill) and Wilfred Reid (Banstead Downs). By February 1915 they
were known as the Niblick Brigade and, were billeted at High Wycombe. Following WW1, Arthur was attached to Monte Carlo G.C
(1922-1927). Arthur and his wife Ruth are buried in North Berwick cemetery.
It was inevitable that Norman Grant, born into this golfing dynasty would follow his father as a caddie then professional at North
Berwick until the Great War disrupted his career. Three weeks after war was declared, Norman volunteered for the 11th Battalion
Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders at a recruitment meeting in North Berwick on 2nd September 1914. He was transferred to the Royal
Engineers, and rose to the rank of Lance Corporal in the Signal Corps. He was demobed on the 6th March 1919 and when his WW1
service medals were being distributed in 1922 they were sent to his new address, San Andres Golf Club, Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Norman also gave lessons at the Hurlingham Club of Buenos Aires. A private Anglo-Argentinian club known as the English Club
where the British cattle ranchers and engineers laying the railroad could escape from the chaos of the real world outside.
Norman left for Buenos Aires on 18 March 1920 sailing from Liverpool on the Pacific Steam Navigation Company. Three years later he
returned to Southampton on 21 December 1923. The following year Norman escorted his wife Agnes and ten-year-old son David to America
on 20 June 1924. They sailed from Greenock to New York with the Royal Mail Steam Packet Company to visit his brother Robert Grant at
Bala Golf Club, Philadephia. They returned to Scotland on 5 January 1925 and Norman continued to work at North Berwick. In 1927 he was
appointed to Cannes Country Club as private professional to the Aga Khan. Norman Francis Orr Grant died on 12th November 1955 at 3
Lorne Square, North Berwick.
Alexander and David 'Sonny' Grant Jnr. were killed in WW1 and their names are listed on the War Memorial in Quality Street. They
are also listed among the former pupils on the War Memorial in the North Berwick Community Centre (original High School).
Robert Finlay Grant, born 3rd April 1899, Crombie Place, North Berwick.
At the time of Robert's birth his father was living in Newton House overlooking Nairn golf course where he was employed. Nairn Golf Club was
founded by Robert Finlay, the local MP who may have inspired Davie to name his son after him. At this time Joseph Dalgleish was the greenkeeper
at Nairn, he had moved from Archerfield in 1894 and since then Nairn has been listed among the world's top courses. Ben Sayers continued the
North Berwick connection when he was invited to altered the tees and bunkers at Nairn in the 1920s.
The row of houses where Robert Grant was born in North Berwick were built by Dr. John Crombie in 1898 and known as Crombie Place. In 1901 the
Town Council re-named the property Park Place after Open Golf Champion Willie Park Jnr. whose club and ball-making workshop was at 15, Beach Road.
The row of houses was later known locally as the 'Numbers' and renamed Nos.17-25 Old Abbey Road.
Robert learned to play golf from his older brothers and he followed them in to the professional ranks. He worked in the London area before
enlisting in WW1 when he was wounded at Mons in northern France. Robert emigrated to America in 1922 and assisted his cousin George Sayers at
Merion Golf Club, PA. In 1924 he was appointed head pro on the nine-hole course at Bala Golf Club adjacent to Fairmount Park in Philadelphia.
In 1924, Bob Grant and his cousin George Sayers qualified in the regional section for the PGA Championship at Philmont Country Club, PA. Neither
travelled west for the second qualifying on the Monday before the championship began at French Springs Resort in French Lick, Indiana. Fred McLeod
and Jack Forrester qualified for the final 32 players but were defeated in the first round of the matchplay. Grant moved to New York in 1927 and
was appointed pro at the Women's National Golf and Tennis Club at Glen Head on Long Island. During the winter he was employed at the Vander-Built-In
golf course on 42nd Street, opposite Grand Central Station. This was the largest indoor golf school in the USA. It had 18 holes made of clay on a
cement base, covered with sand which was kept moist and had the same resistance as turf. The layout included a water feature and sand bunkers and
the facility was used by over 300 golfers each day.
On 18th March 1927, tragedy struck when Robert Grant fell to his death from his fifth floor room at 371 West, 56th Street in Manhattan. The report
in the New York Times suggested there were no suspicious circumstances and the police believed Grant had an attack of vertigo. He was 28 years old
and left a wife and two children.
Sandie Russell, the Starter at Gullane No.1 had the loudest voice in
the county and the locals called him ' Whisper'. His son Bud Russell emigrated to Australia as a golf pro, arriving with 25 shillings in his
pocket, he left a millionaire.
Professionals at the New Luffness Competition, Oct.11, 1894
HENRY GULLANE (1874-1907) St David's,
Harry Gullane born 19th May 1874 at 4 Market Place, North
Berwick, son of James Gullane, a fisherman, and his wife Janet Taylor. Harry and his brother Andrew Gullane were fisherman before being
granted a license as a professional on the West Links in April 1893. Harry's pro badge on the West Links was No.54. He was the first professional
to be appointed to Gullane Golf Club and in 1894 he represented the club in the professional tournament to celebrate the opening of Luffness New
Club when he partnered Andrew Kirkaldy. Harry played in the Open Championship at Muirfield in 1896 and his brother Andrew Gullane was granted
a professional license on the West Links at North Berwick before being appointed pro at Glencruitten Golf Club in Oban, (1912-1938).
Harry Gullane emigrated to America, sailing from Liverpool on S.S. Rhynland he arrived in Philadelphia on 20th January 1897. Harry was
appointed professional and greenkeeper at Philadelphia Country Club where he set a new course record 77 strokes. In January 1898, Gullane
played in a pro tournament at Lakewood, New York which included seven former North Berwick pros.
In March 1898, Harry Gullane and William W. Campbell of Hoylake and the Philadelphia Country Club challenged Jack Harrison from Musselburgh
and Jamie Campbell (listed above) of the Belmont Cricket Club. They played one round at Belmont and another at Philadelphia Country Club.
Later Jack Harrison and W H 'Bert' Way from the Meadowbrook Club challenged Harry Gullane and Jamie Campbell to a match, two rounds at
Meadowbrook and two at Philadelphia for $200. These challenge matches gave the players more exposure and generated huge interest among the
rival club members.
Harry Gullane won the first professional golf tournament in the Philadelphia area, played in 1898 at the Huntingdon Valley Country Club.
There were ten entries and the club provided a free lunch for the contestants. They played the nine-hole course four times each day to make
it a 72-hole tournament. The newspaper report suggested the greens were lumpy and the club's steam roller failed to level the brick-like
surface. Harry Gullane had the winning score of 319 while Willie Anderson finished twelve strokes back in second place and Jamie Campbell
was third with Robert M Thomson completing the North Berwick quartet. The purse totalled $150 and the winner received $100.
In October 1898, Harry Gullane was among sixteen professionals playing in a tournament at Baltusrol Golf Club, Short Hills, New Jersey. The
result was a tie between Harry Gullane and Willie Anderson the pro at Baltusrol. Both Anderson and Gullane turned in scores of 168 strokes
for the 36 holes. Each equaled in the afternoon the record of the course 81 strokes held by Anderson. The first prize was $100 and the
second prize $30. As it was late in the day when the match finished and both had enough of golfing over the wet and muddy greens they
decided to divide the money. The third prize was of $15 was won by John Shippen, a Shinnecock Indian and the first African American golf
professional in the United States. The following day Harry Gullane returned home to North Berwick for the winter.
At the open championship at the Country Club of Baltimore in 1899 when everyone used the solid ball, the wining drive was by W.V. Hoare 269
yards 1 foot 6 inches. Harry Gullane was second with 264 yards 2 feet 9 inches.
According to Peter C Trenham, historian at St David's Golf Club, Gullane returned to Philadelphia in late March 1899 with a collection of golf
clubs from the Forgan Golf Club Works in St. Andrews. He formed an association with the Marshall E. Smith & Bro. sporting goods store at
1020 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia where he fitted people for clubs and gave golf lessons for 50c. A few weeks later Gullane was the first pro to be
appointed to the nine-hole St David's Golf Club in Wayne, PA. The club had moved from Fenimore Lane and was in the process of completing
its new golf course on Lancaster Pike. He supervised the extension of that course to 18 holes which was completed in April 1899. Also that
year Gullane laid out a nine-hole course at West Chester Golf and Country Club, Pennsylvania which was opened in 1900. Gullane set a new
course record at Cape May G.C. (NJ) in 1899 and at Catasauqua G.C (PA) in 1900.
Back Row (Left to Right) Ben Campbell, Willie Auchterlonie, Andrew Kirkaldy, Davie Grant, George Sayers, Philip Wynne,
Harry Gullane, George
Shepherd. Front: (Left Seated) Tom Morris, (Right Seated) Ben Sayers
His best finish in the US Open Championship was seventh equal at Baltimore Country Club in 1899 when he partnered Jack Park from Musselburgh,
and they both received $50. The day before the championship they held a driving contest and Harry finished second with a drive of 264 yards 2
feet 9 inches. Willie Hoare had the winning drive which was 269 yards 7 feet 6 inches. Those were big drives as the gutta-percha ball was
still in use at that time. In 1900 Harry Gullane was pro at the Philadelphia Cricket Club (Chestnut Hill, PA). In April that year he
partnered Willie Thomson of the Huntingdon Valley Country Club in an exhibition match against Harry Vardon on the links of the Philadelphia
Country Club at Bala near here. On the first round of 18 holes the English champion was 1 down, but on the second round he played excellent
golf and won by 156 strokes to his opponent's 160. It was reported in the New York Times that Gullane outdrove Vardon by 10 to 15 yards.
Gullane returned to North Berwick in 1901 with the first new rubber
cored ball known as the Haskell.
In October 1900, Harry Gullane boarded the Pennsylvania Railroad for the two-day trip to Chicago, Illinois where he played in the US Open at
Wheaton. Harry was joined at the Chicago Golf Club by George Turpie, the former greenkeeper at St Andrews and his brother Henry Turpie who
Harry had not seen for over four years at North Berwick. Willie Anderson and Val Fitzjohn were also in the field. Henry Turpie finished in
8th place while Harry Gullane was out of the money in 25th spot and Willie Anderson finished 11th equal. Harry Gullane entered the championship
from Pittsburgh where he laid out the course for Pittsburgh Golf Club (PA).
In 1901, Gullane returned to North Berwick permanently and brought with him the first rubber Haskell golf ball to be seen in North Berwick which
he gave to Horace G. Hutchison, the former amateur champion. Five years later Harry married a local girl and was back giving golf lessons on the
West Links. In 1907 they lived in a row of cottages at 5 Law Road and following a domestic argument Gullane struck his wife to the floor.
Thinking he had killed her, Harry climbed Berwick Law and in a state of remorse threw himself off the quarry, plunging 70 feet to his death.
He was 32 years old and his wife Margaret Brown survived the tragedy. His suicide was reported in the New York Times and Harry Gullane is buried
in the North Berwick Cemetery.
Gullane was followed as head professional at St David's Golf Club by James Govan who was born at 140, South Street, St Andrews, Scotland.
Govan apprenticed as a clubmaker under Robert Forgan before being appointed greenkeeper and professional at Hampstead Golf Club, East
Finchley, London in 1894. James Govan was joined at St David's by his brother Henry Govan who was engaged as assistant professional
until 1913. James Govan's son George apprenticed as a clubmaker with his father at St David's before the brothers moved to Pine Valley
Golf Club, New Jersey. For many years they resided at 337, Ninth Avenue, Haddon Heights, Camden, New Jersey.
Access images of Harry Gullane in Philadelphia
In 1908 'The American Golfer' magazine complied a composite golf course taken from the best 18 holes in the USA. Among them were the 7th and
16th holes at St David's, laid out by Harry Gullane and the only course to have two holes featured. In 1914, when Ben Sayers visited his son
George at Merion Cricket Club, he played the neighbouring course at St. David's every day. Dorothy Campbell won several tournaments over the
course designed by Harry Gullane at St David's. Including the Ladies Invitational Tournament in 1923 and 1924 playing off the men's tee. The
nine hole course at West Chester Golf and Country Club, Pennsylvania also remains as a testimony to Harry Gullane's short life.
Harry Gullane is listed among the first forty golf professionals in the United States prior to 1898 and is recognised today as a true pioneer,
and one of the earliest names of golf and club making in America.
JAMES GULLANE (1891-1986) Colorado
James 'Jimmy' Gullane nephew of Harry Gullane (above) was born 6th
December 1891 at 22 Forth Street, North Berwick, son of James Gullane, a seaman and his wife Maggie Gullane. Jimmy served a five year
apprenticeship as a club maker with Ben Sayers & Son before emigrating to America at the age of 23 years. He sailed from Glasgow with his
friend Davie Ferguson (listed above) on the steamer S.S. California, and they arrived in New York on 18th May 1914.
Jimmy travelled to Philadelphia to take up the position of assistant pro to George Sayers (son of Ben Sayers) at Merion Golf and Cricket
Club, PA. In 1916, Gullane finished eighth in the Philadelphia Open and the following year he was appointed golf instructor at Sunnybrook
G.C, Flourtown, PA. Jimmy Gullane followed Tom Bonnar from Millhill, Musselburgh as head professional at Sunnybrook, New York. In the
final years of WW1 Jimmy served with the US Army and received his US citizenship. During this period he struck up a friendship with the
PGA champion Jim Barnes and for several seasons from 1915 they wintered together at Palma Ceia C.C, Tampa in Florida. Gullane followed
Jim Barnes to Colorado Springs and was appointed golf instructor at the nine-hole course at Broadmoor Hotel. Barnes was appointed playing
professional and allowed to compete in tournaments while Jimmy Gullane looked after the members at Broadmoor. Gullane resided in the
YMCA in Colorado Springs for the first two years and when Barnes left in 1919 Gullane was appointed head pro at Broadmoor Golf Club and
assisted in extending the course to eighteen holes (East Course), which was completed in late 1919.
He finished seventh equal in the first Open Championship of Colorado in 1924. Jimmy Gullane was a big hitter and on several occasions at
Broadmoor he drove the first green (362 yards) and holed out with an eagle two. In 1925 on the seventeenth hole he drove 470 yards making
an eagle three. At that time the American record was held by E.C. Bliss with 445 yards. Jimmy entered the 1926 US Open championship from
Broadmoor and remained with the club until 1927. Jimmy Thomson, the son of Wilfred Thomson from North Berwick took over at Broadmoor Golf
Club in 1930.
Jimmy Gullane was a friend of Wilfred Thomson from their days on the West Links at North Berwick. Wilfred was pro at the Country Club Of
Virginia and Gullane played numerous matches with his son at Colorado Springs. In 1925, Jimmy Thomson was the youngest player to qualify for
the US Open at 16 years of age. In 1930, Thomson broke the course record at Broadmoor when he shot 64 on the par 70 course. Gullane held
the previous record for six years when in 1924 he scored 65. Thomson was a big hitter and drove the 18th green at Broadmoor on several
3,000 spectators swarmed over the West Links causing long delays when
US Open Champion Walter Hagen and Denny Shute played an exhibition match against Bob Denholm and W. B. Torrance.
New York Times - August 1933.
In 1920, Jimmy Gullane married Hilda Cooze in Colorado Springs. Hilda was born in
Barnsley, England and they had a son James Gullane Jnr. Jimmy played in the 1926 US Open at Scioto Country Club, Columbus, Ohio
when Bobby Jones won the title. In 1927, Gullane was persuaded to move to Hillcest Country Club by Frank Phillips, founder of Phillips
Petroleum in Oklahoma, and serve as their first professional at the new course in Bartlesville. Gullane and his family resided at 325
S.Osage Avenue, Bartesville. In 1933 he played in the qualifying rounds of the US PGA Championship at Blue Mound Country Club, Milwaukee,
Wisconsin but failed to be among the 32 qualifiers. Jimmy remained at Hillcrest until 1954 and then managed the driving range at Sunset
Country Club for several years. He was golf professional at the nine-hole Pawhuska Country Club until he retired in 1973. James Gullane
died in July 1986 at the age of 93 years and is buried in White Rose Cemetery, Bartlesville, Oklahoma.
The Gullane family were one of the oldest in North Berwick and could trace their ancestors in the town back to the seventeenth century.
James's father was known as Pilot Gullane, as he was granted a Pilot's license by the Town Council on May 1879 which allowed him to
assist ships to navigate the Firth of Forth. He also was a member of the crew on the lifeboat Fergus Ferguson (1887-1902). James's
sisters Maggie and Jessie converted the ground floor of the family home at 22, Forth Street into their legendary fish and chip shop.
Jessie Gullane was a member of the Glen Ladies Golf Club at North Berwick and was conferred an Honorary Life member in 1966 for her
outstanding service to the Club for over 70 years.
" It has been said in East Lothian that if the land is unsuitable for golf, it was
used for farming."
JOHN and ROBERT HADDEN Haddington Golf Club,
East Lothian UK
John Hadden was born 25 January 1870, High Street, Haddington, son
of William Hadden, solicitor and his wife Anne Robertson. John emigrated to America and in 1923 he was elected secretary and treasurer of
the New York Municipal Golf Association. During his tenure five new municipal courses were laid out, two in the Bronx, one on Staten Island
and two in Brooklyn. This was the start of public links golf in America, which made the game more accessible and dramatically increased the
interest in golf in America.
Hadden learned to play golf as a member of Haddington Golf Club (1865) at Amisfield Park. He emigrated to America in 1909 and was practicing
as a Public Accountant at 465 Manhattan Avenue, New York. He returned to Scotland during WW1 and enlisted with the Royal Scots. He sailed
back to America on the S.S. Saxonia in August 1919. His wife Florence English came from Vermont and the couple lived on West 122 Street,
Manhattan. John Hadden was a member of the Scottish-American Golf Club of New York and they played their competitions on the municipal
course at Van Cortlandt Park. In 1921, Hatten entered the Canadian Open from Toronto Golf Club. The winner was Willie Trovinger with
Tommy Armour and Bob McDonald from Scotland, second equal.
In 1926 he joined the Gun Hill Golf Club also playing over Van Cortlandt Park. That year the United States Golf Association sponsored the
first Public Links Championship and by then each city had at least one public course. In 1924 Hadden was elected President of the Oradell
Golf Links in New Jersey. In 1935 they moved to 2748 Harriet Avenue, Minneapolis where he started his own Accountancy business.
Robert W. Hadden
John Hadden's elder brother Robert Watson Hadden born 1st April 1868 in Vetch Park, Haddington trained as a mining engineer before
emigrating to America in 1891. He travelled to Colorado and worked in the famous gold mines of Cripple Creek and Colorado Springs.
While there Robert laid out a golf course at Cripple Creek, later developed for housing. He also became a member of the Denver
Stock Exchange while residing at 2840 West Twenty-Seventh Avenue, Denver. He invested in mines in Albuquerque, New Mexico,
Wisconsin and San-ta-Fe, California. He also had business interests in New York. In 1920 Robert and his wife Helen McClure set
off on a world cruise visiting Japan, Europe and Asia. On their return they moved to San Diego where Robert died on 28th April
HUGH HAMILTON Royal and Ancient Golf Club,
Hugh Hamilton born 5th November 1859, Garelochhead Farm, Row,
Dumbartonshire, son of James Hamilton, agricultural labourer and his wife Catherine McIver. Hugh Hamilton was employed as a gardener at
Loccard Park, Symington, Ayrshire (1878-87), Inverie House, Glenelg, Inverness-shire (1888-90), and Newton House, Kirkhill, Inverness-shire
In 1894, Hamilton was the head greenkeeper at Skibo Castle when Andrew Carnegie took it over and remained there for some time afterwards.
John Sutherland, the club secretary at Dornoch collaborated with Hamilton on the agronomic development of the course at Skibo. The course was opened in September 1898 by Andrew Carnegie's one year old daughter. The procession led by the Castle
piper crossed a new timber foot bridge over the River Evelix to the first tee followed by the workmen and estate servants. Bizarrlie a
golf club was placed in the infants hands and with some assistance the first ball was struck. The guests at Skibo during 1899 included Rudyard
Kipling, Henry Asquith, Lloyd George and King Edward IV.
In June 1902, Hugh and his wife Margaret Jeans moved to 12 Forth Street, North Berwick when their youngest children were enrolled in the
public school. When Bob Dickson resigned as head green keeper at North Berwick in April 1902 there were 71 applications for his position.
Hugh Hamilton was the successful candidate and the club assisted him to move his furniture to North Berwick.
In April 1903 the Green Committee received a letter from Portmarnock Golf Club requesting that Hamilton be released from his position at
North Berwick as they required his services in Dublin. Initially the Green Committee refused but within weeks they advertised for a new
head greenkeeper. During Hamilton's short tenure on the West Links he was responsible for laying out the first tee in its present
position. It is interesting to note that the remuneration received by Hamilton from the Portmarnock Club was £150 a year and free house
and shooting. At St Andrews the greenkeeper received about £200. In each case they usually received a sovereign gratuity on each medal
day for changing the holes and where they are crack golfers of course get more for teaching or playing.
In October 1903 Hamilton was appointed custodian of the links at St Andrews. He took over from David Honeyman and Old Tom Morris in 1904,
with a wage of £3 per week, on the condition that he did not keep a shop, carry on the business of clubmaking or undertake work on
other courses. At Portmarnock Hamilton received £150, a free house and shooting and at St Andrews he was paid £200 plus a sovereign
gratuity on each medal day for changing the holes. It was Hamilton who created many of the bunkers at St Andrews and lengthened the course
in reaction to the Haskell ball, he also extended the Jubilee course to 18 holes in 1905. The fourteenth green is all that remains from
Hamilton's orginal layout on the Jubilee. He also laid out the bunkers to the right of the 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th holes on the Old Course.
Hamilton was invited to return to North Berwick in 1906 and assisted in laying out the new Burgh Golf Course.
Hamilton was described as 'Greenkeeper to the Royal and Ancient Golf Club' since he was paid by the Club under the historic agreement that
they maintained the town's municipal links. At Old Tom Morris's funeral, Hamilton as Links Superintendent led the procession carrying the
Royal and Ancient Golf Club silver club and balls draped in black crepe.
It was during this period that he devoted so much study to the invention of his special mixtures of artificial manures for putting greens,
which were initially a great success. Regular top dressing, worm removal and extra seeding when required. Hamilton continued to top dress
the greens with Tom Morris's mixture of sand but he also used a compost of black earth and nitrogenous and phosphate manure. Hamilton wrote
a chapter in the book 'Golf Greens and Green Keeping' entitled 'Treatment and Upkeep of Seaside Links'. The book edited by Horace G. Hutchinson
in 1906 included a series of articles written by among others James Braid and Harold Hilton. The book continues to be used by golf course
superintendents and has become a collectors item selling for over $15000 a copy. Hamilton parted company with the Royal and Ancient Golf Club
in September 1911, after being warned by the committee about his excessive drinking.
The discussion on the merits of Hamilton's treatment of the greens will continue but there can be no denying his contribution to green
keeping was immense. His continual search for improvements and his thought provoking articles. Never again would the club professional
be in charge of the golf course maintenance. In 1913, Hamilton returned to his original employment as a journeyman gardener and resided
at 234 Watt Street, Govan Glasgow for the next twenty years.
TOM HARLEY (1855- 1943) First Canadian
One of the most outstanding members of the old Luffness Golf
Club was Tom Harley who emigrated to Canada and won the first Canadian Amateur Championship in 1895. Thomas Harley was born at Limekilns,
Fife in April 1855, son of George Harley, Master Mariner and his wife Margaret Dewar. Tom moved with his parents to Aberlady, where he served an
apprenticeship as a joiner and worked with Peter Brown, who was a founder member and captain of Luffness Golf Club.
Tom Harley won the Hope Challenge Medal in 1875, 1877, 1879, 1880. This was the only stroke play competition open to all golfers in East
Lothian, and Harley remains the only player to have won the Medal four times. In 1880, Tom Harley moved to Edinburgh before emigrating to
Canada where he was employed as a carpenter and stevedore (charge-hand) in the dockyards of the Royal Military College in Kingston, Ontario.
In 1895 he entered the Canadian Amateur Championship from Kingston Golf Club. Which curiously was founded in 1891 by a gentleman who when a
boy attended the public school at Dirleton, seven miles from Aberlady. Harley defeated Alex Simpson (Royal Ottawa Golf Club) in the final
to become the first Amateur Champion of Canada and he received a Gold Medal and the Aberdeen Cup donated by Lord Aberdeen to the Canadian
Golf Association formed the previous year. In 1907, George S. Lyon won the Aberdeen Cup for the third consecutive year and under the rules
he retained the trophy which was eventually lost in his possession.
Tom Harley went on to represent his club in a number of interprovincial matches between Quebec and Ontario. Kingston Golf Club situated in
the city of Kingston 200 km. east of Toronto on Lake Ontario, went out of existence in 1925.
In 1898, Tom Harley was persuade by Henry J Hewat to move to America and become the first golf pro at North Jersey Golf Club. Henry J.
Hewat was born 3rd August 1859 in Castle Douglas, Dumfriesshire, son of Richard Hewat, a writer and his wife Euphemia. Henry resided
with his parents at 3 St Andrew, Street, Castle Douglas and apprenticed as an engineer. He emigrated to America, on 30 May 1895 and
joined Samuel Smith & Co. a railroad locomotive manufacturer in Paterson, New Jersey
Henry J. Hewat assisted in laying out the first nine-hole course in Tuxedo Park, for Tuxedo Golf Club in 1892. Hewat was a member of
Paterson Golf Club, New Jersey and was elected the first president and captain of Paterson Golf Club at a meeting held in Hamilton
Club in 1896. Hewat was also a member of Kingston and Montreal Golf Clubs in Canada and Richmond Country Club on Staten Island.
Henry learned to play golf at Troon and North Berwick and could have recommended Daniel Kenny (Kirkcudbright and Buffalo Park), James
Soutar (Tuxedo) and Tom Harley (Paterson) to their various positions as golf instructors. In May 1935 Henry J. Hewat returned to Castle
Douglas and donated the present clock tower to the town.
Tom Harley played in a pro tournament at Ocean County Hunt and Country Club, Lakewood, NY on New Years Day 1898. According to the New York
Times the field also included North Berwick pros, Harry Gullane, Robert Thomson, Willie Anderson, James Campbell and Harry Reddie.
The Fitzjohn brothers whose father was clubmaster at Muirfield played-off for the first prize. By 1909 Tom Harley was a golf teacher
at North Jersey Golf Club and he resided on Van Houten Street in Paterson City. In the 1920s Tom returned to his trade as a carpenter
employed at Barbour Flax Spinning Works on Grand Street, Paterson, NJ. and he returned home permanently in the late 1920s.
Following Harley's departure to Canada, a group of Luffness members broke away from the original club where Harley was a member and formed
Luffness New Golf Club in 1894. The original members moved west and leased land from Lord Wemyss where they laid out a course at Craigielaw,
and called their new club Kilspindie. Harley became a member of this club and during a vacation to Scotland in 1911, he won the Edward S.
Hope Challenge Cup. The trophy was presented to him by the club captain Rt. Hon. A. J. Balfour, former British Prime Minister (1902-05).
When Harley returned to Aberlady permanently he worked with John Cuthbert who had a carpenter and undertaker's business in Back Lane,
Aberlady. Harley was proffered Honorary Life Member of Kilspindie Golf Club in 1928. He resided with John Cuthbert at 'Maryville' in the
High Street (now Rushmoon House) where he died in 1943, aged 88 years. His achievements are recognized in the Canadian Golf Hall of Fame and
Museum in Oakville, Ontario.
ALEX HAY (1933- 2011) Woburn Golf Club,
Milton Keynes, UK
Alexander Galloway Hay, born 10 May 1933, Ramsay Place,
Portobello son of William Hay, Commercial Traveller and his wife Margaret Galloway. Alex was educated at Musselburgh Grammar School and
joined Royal Musselburgh Golf Club, wining the Musselburgh Boys Championship at the age of 17 years. Alex began his working life
at the Stock Exchange before joining Ben Sayers & Son as an apprentice clubmaker in their factory in Forth Street, North Berwick. He
trained under clubmaker Charlie Thomson and on completion of his National Service in the RAF, Alex become an assistant professional. His
first job was with Bill Shankland, at Potters Bar Golf Club in Hertfordshire after Ben Sayers Jnr. intervened personally on Hay's behalf.
Alex qualified as a PGA professional in 1952 and worked at East Hertfordshire, Dunham Forest and Ashridge Golf Clubs. His long spell at
the later club, some 13 years in which his reputation as a coach flourished. He moved to Woburn in 1977 where he not only designed the
Marquess course but became the managing director in 1986 and played an influential role in the development of the golfing complex at Woburn.
Alex's grandfather was part of the fishing community in Musselburgh living at 29, Beach Lane. His mother came from Portobello and his
parents lived at 96 Campie Road, Musselburgh.
Alex was originally introduced to the BBC by the legendary sports commentator David Coleman and from 1978 Alex co-presented all the major
golf tournaments with Peter Alliss and their voices became synonymous with the BBC coverage of golf for over three decades. Alex also
worked for ABC and NBC in the United States. He was a PGA professional until 1994, a Ryder Cup referee, a talented artist and illustrator,
contributing many drawings to Golf Illustrated, and author of seven books. He stopped broadcasting for the BBC in 2004 and died 11 July,
2011, aged 78 years.
PETER HENDRIE Ulen Country Club, Indiana,
Peter Hendrie born 20th November 1872 in a cottage situated beside Whitekirk
Bridge, son of Peter Hendrie, agricultural labourer and his wife Elizabeth. Peter was granted his 1st class caddie badge No.122 on 1st May 1896
and he caddied for many of the great players at North Berwick as a boy. In 1891 Peter was working as a grocer and lodging with the Montgomery
family at 18 Westgate (now 97 opposite the Abbey Church). In 1897, he was appointed pro at York Golf Club before returning to North Berwick in
1900 when he was granted a professional license on the West Links. He married Mary Montgomery in 1898 when he listed his occupation as a
club-maker and they lived at 6 Market Place, North Berwick.
In 1902 they emigrated to Canada sailing from Glasgow to Montreal, where Pete was appointed to Victoria Golf Club, Saint-Lambert, Quebec. In
1904 he finished fourth in a National Tournament for Professionals held as a side event after the more important Canadian Amateur Championship
was complete. In 1906, Pete moved to Westmount Golf Club in Montreal (now the site of Surrey Gardens) and that year he finished ninth in the
In 1911, they travelled to America where Pete was appointed to the nine-hole course at Fort Mitchell Country Club, Covington, Kentucky. The
following year he entered the US Open Championship at Buffalo Country Club, NY from Fort Mitchell. In 1914 Hendrie moved to Rock Island Arsenal
Golf Club, IL and then to Woodstock Country Club, CT. In January 1918 he was appointed pro at the municipal Riverside Golf Club in Riverside Park
by the Indianapolis Park Board. He lived at 2230 N. Capitol Ave, Indianapolis and his salary was $50 a month with the privilege of selling golf
supplies. The green fee at Riverside was 10 dollars, plus 5 dollars for a locker and the daily fee was 50 cents. The majority of golfers in
Indiana played on municipal courses and the pro's earnings from teaching and selling equipment was quite considerable. This was causing the City
Council to consider offering the concession to the highest bidder.
In 1920, during the Indianapolis centennial celebrations, Pete Hendrie partnered Jock Hutchison in an exhibition match against Charlie Mayo and
Wallie Nelson. Jock Hutchison was the current US PGA Champion and the following year he won the Open Championship at St Andrews. In 1924, Pete
was the first pro to be appointed to the nine-hole course at Ulen Country Club, Lebanon, Indiana where he retired after 22 years. Hendrie died
in July 1960 and is buried in Oak Hill Cemetery, Boone Township, Lebanon County, Indiana. The members at Ulen continue to play for the Pete
Hendrie 'beat the pro' competition and a mixed tournament which bares his name.
Maintenance work being carried out to a traditional revetted bunker face,
at the 176 yard, par 3, 10th hole on the West Links, North Berwick.
JACK HOBENS Factfile
If you can add to the details above or have information on
other North Berwick golfers
please let me firstname.lastname@example.org